Dark

The Video Game Violence Connection 

Views 23K
99% 230 2

The Right Opinion: The Video Game Violence Connection - A Response to Matt Bevin, and those pushing the narrative that video games are the cause of violence/gun crime.
I didn’t think I’d be returning to this topic as soon as I am, I thought I’d covered the most reasoned and contentious arguments for and against gun control in a fairly recent video, and to be honest, I did. Which is why I’m not addressing gun control today.
However, there is increasing pressure on certain individuals to concede and bring in some restrictions, and that's understandable. Now, the response has been a mix, whereas some have considered such changes, and others have expressed why they feel those changes would be a detriment to public safety, or why they’d be more ineffective. A few have considered deflecting the issue completely, onto something rather unrelated, this being gaming, and I thought I’d use today to correct the misconception that many take about video games.
What was the incident in particular that caught my eye then? Well it was this little blighter of a piece, or a statement, by Matt Bevin, who, in response to the recent shooting, decided that one of the most dangerous influences of children’s feeble, impressionable minds, was the presence of violent video games. Appearing on a local TV station, he states that, there are violent video games listed for adults, but children play them, the sin. And then points out that there are games that reward players for killing other players, and that these games are being forced down our throats, under that damned free speech, and that apparently they have desensitised people to the value of human life, and so much of the strong morals that we need in the land of the free.
Perhaps my penultimate video in this style.
- Edited by: us-first.info/more/IqxiwBLsQYEyKheKIBBvWA
- Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zester, The Spansh Inn Physician, Yerzi, Yeahsure, a7f, viirium, The King Cow Show, Duster, MrRadiance,
- Thumbnail: us-first.info
Links: us-first.info/player/video/f6Zpl4iCoX1oaXU.html
kotaku.com/kentucky-governor-blames-violent-video-games-for-shooti-1823075688
www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyg.2017.00174/full - Study against long term effects
onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/jcom.12129/full - Another study against long term effects
onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/ab.20301/abstract - Short-term effects
www.washingtonpost.com/national/fla-shooting-suspect-had-a-history-of-explosive-anger-depression-killing-animals/2018/02/15/06f05710-1291-11e8-9570-29c9830535e5_story.html?.f9233d103cbe - Nikolas Cruz profile, with info on him being adopted at 2
www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/17571472.2015.1133012 - First two years important

Published on

 

Mar 7, 2018

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 100   
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Perhaps my penultimate video in this style. One correction: He said it on a radio show, not a TV show apparently Q&A: Are you aware that you show North Korea for “South Korea”? Yes, editor sent it through and thought we’ll roll with it. CREDITS BELOW: - Edited by: us-first.info/more/IqxiwBLsQYEyKheKIBBvWA - Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zester, The Spansh Inn Physician, Yerzi, Yeahsure, a7f, viirium, The King Cow Show, Duster, MrRadiance, - Thumbnail: us-first.info Links: us-first.info/player/video/f6Zpl4iCoX1oaXU.html kotaku.com/kentucky-governor-blames-violent-video-games-for-shooti-1823075688 www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyg.2017.00174/full - Study against long term effects onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/jcom.12129/full - Another study against long term effects onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/ab.20301/abstract - Short-term effects www.washingtonpost.com/national/fla-shooting-suspect-had-a-history-of-explosive-anger-depression-killing-animals/2018/02/15/06f05710-1291-11e8-9570-29c9830535e5_story.html?.f9233d103cbe - Nikolas Cruz profile, with info on him being adopted at 2 www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/17571472.2015.1133012 - First two years important
Bass Player
Bass Player 6 months ago
The only time I wanted to shoot up a school was cuz if u have a bully u only allowed to tell the teacher once, after that ur considered the problem. So I felt that if my teacher are gonna side with the bullies I'll. Have to take them all out. And ironically the game army men help me place my anger in the right place. Using the flame thrower was so satifying
Lia Nocelli levi
Cmon they "desinsitezr
LillianTheVampire 2
The News call Creepypasta Fans Satan worshippers
skyheartDemon
skyheartDemon 2 years ago
well something needs to be done, parents need to be exposed. one lady complains about her 3 old being a wild animal but she just clings to her cell phone and doesnt teach him shit and expects the school to tame him she neglects him socially. feeding them and keeping them clean isnt enough
Mims Zanadunstedt
Mims Zanadunstedt 2 years ago
ppl blame the parents alot, just not openly cuz 'respect your elders' and they'd get the belt or the parents just have persistent denial
Keira Gillon
Keira Gillon 2 months ago
RELEVANT
TopHatBoi
TopHatBoi 3 months ago
Why Does Your Little Video Game Avatar Look Like Professor Layton?
norman
norman 5 months ago
trust me we didn’t like bevin either. the way he fucked teachers over shows he had no true concern for children either
Baby Genjo
Baby Genjo 6 months ago
The tragedy is idiot Karen’s
Bass Player
Bass Player 6 months ago
Kids used to watch batman and power Rangers. 2 shows focus on people beating the shit out of other people. And the power Rangers had guns lol and no one shot up a school lol just lots of playfighting. Which apperently h can get suspend for now lol what the fuck
Jerry Jerri
Jerry Jerri 7 months ago
*GUN CONTROL*
Dr. Faustus
Dr. Faustus 9 months ago
Fuck you jack Thompson
Metagasm
Metagasm Year ago
That Doki Doki music in the background gave me horrible flashbacks. That game ruined me.
Xeyal 1001
Xeyal 1001 Year ago
Why the ddlc music? Much confusion
Iciclett
Iciclett Year ago
not the doki doki music
Kevin Newby
Kevin Newby Year ago
6:00 yo, that DDLC music tho
Tammi Harman
Tammi Harman Year ago
Matt Bevins... that’s the same politician that pushed a bill to get rid of teacher’s pensions in Kentucky. Yikes. Didn’t think I could dislike him much more than I already did.
Silver Skelly
Silver Skelly Year ago
The Kentucky governor is a bad representation of the state as a whole
Soviet Spy
Soviet Spy Year ago
I always think back to two things my mom said about the violence in video games argument which is one "well I've never tried to squish a turtle or break a brick with my head for coins" and she told me a story that once her mom walked up to her at about 6 or 7 and said now I want you to know that what you see on TV isn't real *in reference to cartoons* and my mum was like "well duh what u on about m8" *I'm paraphrasing* and she said that 4 or 5 kids went into a sewer system looking for the ninja turtles, my mum said her little self was baffled kids older than her (one was as old as 13 I believe) could be so stupid. It all comes down to the individual and theres no ERSB rating for personality. We can probably be expecting one in this fucking Orwellian society we live in😂
Leilani Vaughan-Williams
Honestly the games I see kids play are ones I don't think adults should play either...
Internet duck
Internet duck Year ago
America: we need guns Everyone else: why America: to protect ourselves from people with guns Everyone else: ….
Corruptor55
Corruptor55 Year ago
America's biggest problems *imo:* Gun violence *obviously,* lack of mental health awareness/institutions, too much money spent on the military, lack of climate change action, lobbyists in our government, and the flawed justice system.
lordagony100
lordagony100 Year ago
Yes Because violence has never existed before video games Before video games we all got along, we held hands There were no murders or-- Hold on folks, I'm being informed that those things were there And video games had no effect on the amount of them Jeez golly gosh I dont know who misinformed us at first but I'm sure glad we received the correct info before more misinformation on the airwaves
Nameless Blob
Nameless Blob Year ago
i think it is mental illness and other psychological factors that cause mass shooters, but in the end, they wouldn't be able to shoot anyone if they didn't have access to guns.
FeeForDreams
FeeForDreams 2 years ago
Lol how has natural selection not rid the world of these people yet
Nernx Ultima
Nernx Ultima 2 years ago
Public Education needs to be changed in America if we really want to see any real progress. Schools need bigger budgets, better teachers, assistants in the classrooms, students could use real mentors in their lives since the parents aren't willing to do it for them half the time. That's what I think. People have grown insensitive from multiple avenues of life. You can't just throw more money at it though, we need an actual plan for the system to work.
Jose Thomas
Jose Thomas 2 years ago
your points are null and invalid for using DDLC OST for background music in a case study and comparative research video... Just kidding, great video and just subscribed from IHE.
socially inept spider-man
Kids who kill after playing games already have a mental issue beforehand, video games have nothing to do with it
Eva AHH
Eva AHH 2 years ago
60% of people who are killed being killed by guns in a country where guns are legal isn’t that bad tbh
Eva AHH
Eva AHH 2 years ago
........ if you don’t want your kids playing violent games don’t buy them the games.
the slim bin
the slim bin 2 years ago
America's biggest issue is a skyrocketing price of RAM
knight meh
knight meh 2 years ago
i think the USA needs to talk about the fact they are bombing 8 different countries atm and committing 9/11 like event of death and pain on a daily basis yet they think they are the good guys.
N!GhTSpÄwN
N!GhTSpÄwN 2 years ago
I was distracted by the doki doki theme but awesome videos regardless
•Flame •
•Flame • 2 years ago
When you live in Kentucky and you see Matt Bevin 😶
REST IN PEACE POP SMOKE
My favorite channel other than Memeulous, Pyrocynical, and Pewdiepie.
Keegan Cornish
Keegan Cornish 2 years ago
I would suggest re-releasing this video without showing the school shooters faces. There are some very good points as to why it is wrong even harmful to show their faces. Just a thought. Love the channel.
Equidous
Equidous 2 years ago
DDLC music?
spencer craig craig
Don't get me wrong doki doki has a fire sound track but is sounds a bit off due to the topic right now. Maybe that was the point? I don't know
Gabriel .Camarena
Gabriel .Camarena 2 years ago
The doki doki song was funny
Slightly Mad
Slightly Mad 2 years ago
If there's a school shooting, then the cause (or a cause) for that shooting might be found in the environment at the school.
kkilljjoy
kkilljjoy 2 years ago
As someone who grew up in the U.S., it's most likely the education system. I believe heavily in free speech, but the way the public education system deals with bullying is a joke. I've seen students physically and verbally abuse others and get no punishment. I've seen students defend themselves in a fight, and get a worse punishment than the one who threw the first punch. I've seen principals discriminate against students. My grandmother is a teacher, and her principal is racist, but my grandmother has no way to report the principal without risking her job.
Manny Danner
Manny Danner Year ago
Effects and from this comment I learned something
Manny Danner
Manny Danner Year ago
kkilljjoy chaotic
sugarcane*12
sugarcane*12 2 years ago
I know that a lot of people are not going to agree with my statement, but I'll state it anyways. I think that part of the reason that violence has gone up in the USA is because of our terrible punishment system. Video games are not the problem. No, that is just silly. Plenty of people have played violent video games and not gone on this killing spree. Guns are not necessarily the problem either. The problem with the whole "we need gun control to solve the our problems with violence" statement is that it forgets that countries were practically everyone owns a gun have the lowest crime rate. For example in Switzerland practically everyone owns a gun and they have one of the lowest crimes rates in the world. Now I get that some people will argue that guns can increases violence and in a sense that is true. There is something disturbing about someone who is mentally disturbed carrying a gun and that is that they can do a lot more damage than if they are carrying a knife. But never the less the gun is not ultimately to blame the person is ultimately to blame. A gun can be a powerful & protective ally or it can a weapon of mass destructive it all depends on the person using it. At the end of the day (and I know that this going to sound a bit cliche.) but guns do not kill people. People kill other people. A gun never stood up & killed anybody. The ultimate root of the problem is people and since people are the ultimate root of the problem it is the people who commit the murders that need to be dealt with. The justice systems are suppose to do that, but they don't do that very well. People who commit murder either need to sent to prison for the rest of life and be on life without parole or they need to be receive capital punishment. I do not understand why murders are let out of prison that is like allowing a dog with rabies to run wild. In addition prison are not places that are feared as much as they use to. The people there are not required to work and things are given for free. In fact there are people that PURPOSELY go back in prison, because they are know they will be taken care of there and that is something that should not be the case. Prison is a place were people should be required to work and hard and not everything should be given freely. If prison is going to be a source of punishment than that source of punishment should be a place that people fear. People maybe less likely to commit murder if they knew they be forced to live a terrible for it or get killed for it. In other words certain things are less likely to happen if people are afraid of the punishment for it. I know the fixing the justice is not the whole answer and there are bigger problems than the justice system, but fixing the justice system maybe part of the answer.
Vish
Vish 2 years ago
sugarcane*12 although I agree with most of what you are saying, perhaps the problem with prisons is that they are geared towards punishment rather than rehabilitation.
timeparadox
timeparadox 2 years ago
Dear parents: If your child wants Call of Duty, get them a Switch with Splatoon 2. If your child wants to watch a violent cartoon, give them Happy Tree Friends. Actually, forget that last point.
FasterSpinDash
FasterSpinDash 2 years ago
Sadly I live in Kentucky I can’t wait to move to Florida
REDUX CyberSpace
REDUX CyberSpace 2 years ago
Honestly, video games are a tool for catharsis of stress and need for satisfaction. Many of these people who are serial killers and mass shooters are mentally ill. They need a better outlet than video games. They need psychological help and positive feedback. They need someone who will listen to them and give them solutions...POSITIVE SOLUTIONS. Hell even Ted Bundy mentioned if he got mental help he would have been a better person.
TheRedVelveteer
TheRedVelveteer 2 years ago
3:42 The DDLC! main leitmotif whilst discussing the medium of videogames is inspired, hats off to breaditor. More conversationally, it's rather interesting how this particular theory has grasped public opinion despite the evidence against it and even to the contrary. There's the time-honoured tradition of experienced adults being skeptical towards possibly foolish new developments, and there's a legitimate fear that the virtual world will replace reality on even a subconscious level. As a global society, there is no doubt that we are becoming *desensitised* to death. Whether we are becoming *tolerant* of it is a different matter entirely, and one I would not like to approach with an eleven-foot pole. But why videogames? What is it about these impossible simulations that make them the subject of such abject fear and ridicule? It's so odd to think that the very same platforms and mediums used to save lives and archive important information are practically spat upon in terms of stigma. Drake recently joined a Fortnite player for a session and the response was of surprise, confusion and extreme negative or positive reactions. I can't figure out why this stigma exists and continues despite the ongoing quiet attempts at normalisation, or even what it is attached to. The games themselves? No, they are simply seen as either horrendously childish or unacceptably mature. The violence? No, unmitigated fictional violence exists across most media. The concepts? No, story is one of the best things any entertainment has to offer. It's fascinating...and fascinatingly complex.
TheRedVelveteer
TheRedVelveteer 2 years ago
My only complaint is that Dreams of Love And Literature straight after the main theme turned James' interesting opinion piece into Monika's soliquoy and a part of my heart was deleted. That damned game.
Gene Schwartz
Gene Schwartz 2 years ago
awesome video, awesome channel
iMeMine
iMeMine 2 years ago
It always pisses me off when an "expert" sites the APA studies about the link between violent video games and aggression, but then they say the study suggests a link to violent, criminal behaviour... so disingenuous. A short term rise in aggression is NOT the same violence of any kind SMH
ThatOneRedPanda Who'sTired
Cool pixel art
Theoretical Jack
Theoretical Jack 2 years ago
Wait wait, was that music Doki Doki Literature Club or am I mixing something up?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Nah it is
Josh Davis
Josh Davis 2 years ago
Blaming one thing on a person's actions is never going to give you the full picture. Video games, or media in general, can contribute to a person's behavior, but like you mentioned, there's usually a lot more going on. Besides that, 89% of video games involve violence to some degree. If they really were the sole cause of these shootings, I'm pretty sure the world would have even less people in it.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Exactly
Notfiy Fox
Notfiy Fox 2 years ago
Wow. They just don't get it. Do they? They're just obviously ignoring every single freaking part....... But, this is one of your most informative videos yet! Nice work!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you!
Jax3636
Jax3636 2 years ago
Woah hold up- Canada has the second highest homicide rate? I would've never guessed that, lol. You learn something new every day
TheLucky1s Show
TheLucky1s Show 2 years ago
If violent video games make you violent then why aren’t there mass shootings in the UK where we all have the same games
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Mmmhmm
Raccoon GuyYT
Raccoon GuyYT 2 years ago
Happy 13k TRO
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you!
Starry Eyes
Starry Eyes 2 years ago
Loving the DDLC background music... now if we could only ban Monika, that's sound policy.
trogdoar149
trogdoar149 2 years ago
At least we have Rand Paul.
MiningForDiamonds
MiningForDiamonds 2 years ago
1,8 billion gamers in the world, oh no we're fucked, if it it was for video games we all would be dead
absolute bs
absolute bs 2 years ago
Blaming video games for gun violence failed as a excuse 30 years ago. Politicians love to deflect.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
It's rather nauseating
Benjamin Slade
Benjamin Slade 2 years ago
Whats funny to me is I imangine that Religion has caused more violence than Videogames could ever dream of. Not debating that videogames probably don't help violence...but I think its funny to how we pick and choose what causes violence.
Sawyer Simonet
Sawyer Simonet 6 days ago
I mean think of Isis
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Exactly, it's whatever's easiest to blame.
Commander Costas
Commander Costas 2 years ago
Since being a little boy, I've always watched violent movies and played all sorts of videogames. However, I had been part of at most 2-3 fights in school. In fact, any fights i was involved in were before my parents bought my first console and before i watched any legit violent movies. Videogames don't cause violence if you don't let them. If parents teach their children that violence is not the answer, no media will change their mind, whether the latter is a movie or videogame.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah, that's quite similar to me.
Katie Date
Katie Date 2 years ago
Some individuals in today's anti-video game group seem to come off as if the regional rating boards don't exist or assume they're not strict enough. I just wish they would put more belief in the system they helped create as it was considered a major historical change in the gaming industry. The mentality in general only helped a small number of times, especially in regards to creating the rating boards and updating the policy & legislation regularly to fit the current standards. Even though any given rating for some games is debatable as the context might not be that inappropriate for the targeted demographic (especially for foreign ports of games that get translated). Some decisions for odd ratings might be due to historical, cultural or ethical beliefs in a specific country. In the more rare occurrence, some games will suddenly change rating even after being released to the public due to a mistake. It's merely just a way of censorship to protect citizens. Games are becoming more diverse and usually explores various concepts due to the improvements in technology has helped the creators fulfil their goals. Regardless if they work as a massive group or by themselves. As much as I personally dislike this sort of system. It has significantly helped consumers get a vague idea if the adult and/or child are comfortable being exposed to the subject matter.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah the rating's board do a fair job, even if they do sometimes make some strange decisions.
Nighouds
Nighouds 2 years ago
I believe that long term exposure of violent video games (or any violent media in general) to someone under-aged may not cause violence necessarily, but may very well cause significant delusions about how much a human body can handle (ie. getting shot and coming back up with relative ease) or what is acceptable or even possible in certain, unlikely, but possible situations, which can lead to poor decisions when presented with situations including dangerous weapons.
Ned is Fat
Ned is Fat 2 years ago
Fuckin excellent video
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thanks dude!
Meis magiic
Meis magiic 2 years ago
Games don't make people violent, shitty internet connection does
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
PREACH
AveragePixel
AveragePixel 2 years ago
If video games caused real world violence, i would've become the worlds most infamous serial killer by now. But yes, good vidya, boy
zagros zemnako
Same
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thanks dude xo
Kyle Clements
Kyle Clements 2 years ago
I’m being heavily distracted by the triggering Doki Doki Literature Club song
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Hahaha
GandalfAndFerg
GandalfAndFerg 2 years ago
as soon as the doki doki comes on i get ptsd
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
RIP
큐베다이스키
큐베다이스키 2 years ago
3:51 You put the picture of Kim jung-un when mentioning South Korea? As a South Korean I'm very offended by this! Unsubscribe! Just joking Great video as always. By the way you would not believe how much media in South Korea is trying to relate violence and video games. Seriously South Korea's regulations on media including video games are quite strict and sometimes their reasoning are really illogical too. (There was actually a case where they claimed Hyouka(it's an anime) to be violent because there was 'literally one scene' where artifical arm that was painted with blood shown on the screen. The context was that they were filming a moive about crime. I am not making this up) I really hope the higher ups are logical and intelligent as you are.
큐베다이스키
큐베다이스키 2 years ago
I too find it funny ha ha. Keep up the good work!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Haha, North Korea was my editor's gaffe but I thought it was funny. Yeah South Korea have some strong sanctions, and that's crazy, didn't know about that, appreciate the insight. Thank you for your kind words.
Memeolade
Memeolade 2 years ago
Ever wonder why there isn't as many shootings in other places of the world? It's because they don't have Trump as their leader. North Korea could be an exception with their baby faced leader.
NodiWolf
NodiWolf 2 years ago
I didn't realize Trump had been president for 100 years. Where have I been?
John C
John C 2 years ago
I love the sprite
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah it's a nice touch
Yomilover
Yomilover 2 years ago
It's not the video games. Freaking gamer gate has taught us that. Video games are fun but no take my gun.
Zach Ward
Zach Ward 2 years ago
People've accused certain types of music for some school shootings as well. It's all just cherry picking for something to place blame.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Oh yeah I remember that, that's ridiculous.
Match Ashes
Match Ashes 2 years ago
Doki-Doki on my mind, Doki-Doki all the time
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
;)
m g
m g 2 years ago
thanks for the ddlc flashbacks
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
You're welcome
Adam
Adam 2 years ago
5:17 V O R E
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Explicit content
breaditor
breaditor 2 years ago
i have no idea what you’re talking about. videogames are obviously the main cause to violence and nobody can prove me otherwise. my child played the candy crush and now he’s a somali pirate
Vish
Vish 2 years ago
That implies your kid gave up whatever citizenship he had, became a somali citizen and then engaged in piracy. I know it's a joke but I want to see where it goes....
m g
m g 2 years ago
d i v i n e
Favaro Leone
Favaro Leone 2 years ago
i think it more has to do with culture. we are living in a culture that glorifies gun violence, whether it be violent video games, comics, and movies. sure they're not just violent video games around but the one that are violent are promoted in the media more. the problem is painting video games with the same brush that conservatives are known to do. we need to not only have an honest conversation about this but also make sure it doesn't hurt video games as a whole. i would say the solution would be making m rated video games only purchasable with an photo id, along with guns removed from stores like walmart outside of gun specific stores.
NodiWolf
NodiWolf 2 years ago
You want me to have to produce papers to buy a video game? Jesus. Also, I don't see how where guns are purchasable has anything to do with whether a motivated individual will procure one.
LilyBizkit
LilyBizkit 2 years ago
lol the Doki Doki Literature Club music
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeet
Eddie Hippisley-Cox
Using the Doki Doki Literature Club Soundtrack. *Nice one.* 😉
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
;)
AnotherTerrible ContentCreator
EW CONSOLE PEASANT jk great video also liked the NES art style
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah Breaditor is a virtuoso.
Jacob Hill
Jacob Hill 2 years ago
Ah, good video but when it got to 3:43 I had a reflex trigger. Needless to say, it was a bit distracting, but not by fault of you.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Hahaha
Fidel Cashflow
Fidel Cashflow 2 years ago
"Kids are playing games for adults" Well I guess some parents out there need to get their shit together huh?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah they should
jtrev492
jtrev492 2 years ago
Doki doki music. Top kek
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeet
Xemgoa
Xemgoa 2 years ago
Having watched the entire video once and for a second time during a walk on a cool day to gather my thoughts, I can agree with the video. In summary, videos games are not the ones responsible for violence, but the people who choose to act out everything they see in one. While I do agree that depending on the title, certain concepts presented to the player could range from thought provoking, to heavy realities, perspectives, etc; that does not mean that those portrayals being presented are somehow causing some unfathomable corruption to erupt as soon as the first copy is purchased. It's more the fault of younger audiences that are introduced to more mature content either without parental guidance at least or as a means to pacify a child without supervision, but also in tandem is depending on the mental and emotional state of the player in question. (And maybe to some degree depending on their intelligence, and perhaps if said recipient will let what they see or hear change their experiences or not.) And given Matt Brevins statement on the matter, it was proven to be false. I felt what he said was just to harass people who play video games, or he is a full blown lunatic who wants to start a fire and see how much damage he can do while everyone around him is emotionally charged with distraught, grief and paranoia, while the rational folks are trying their hardest to settle everyone down and actually get to the bottom of what is really going on. Although, as much as I find it hard to believe, I wonder what perspective he had to be able to apply what he saw in a video game to how to efficiently wield a weapon. (Then again, it may or may not give ammo to the people who care more to just go with shutting everything down in relevance to violence in video game if that were explored.) In short, with any media, or heck-- something as basic as sharing or making up stories, those dark or mature elements will be prevalent in one way or another, while on a unrelated subject - going way too far to shield everything in life from a child is a unhealthy and is likely to lead to detrimental consequences, back on to the related subject: There is really no way, in my opinion so far, video games with violent elements in them don't make for a violent person; it really comes down the the state of the persons health, and the fact that us being free thinking sapiens - we've been violent for several centuries. As much as I don't like acknowledging the idea as some other folks do, there have been kids who will hit each other with little to no provocation and have done so with and without seeing anything violent prior to the dainty slap/mean punch. We're human, we fall short. We can always do better as individual persons! ... but we kinda need to stop trying not to acknowledge that we are not perfect people. Nice work on the video, TRO!
Xemgoa
Xemgoa 2 years ago
You're welcome!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you!
.
. 2 years ago
Nice vid bro, hopefully one day we can stop pussyfooting around the shit that needs to be discussed. Surprised this is still something that gets brought up in the news.
.
. 2 years ago
The Right Opinion #kill the media
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah it's a real distraction technique imo
Raccoon GuyYT
Raccoon GuyYT 2 years ago
Saying that Trump bans gaming, how would it slow down mass shootings and crime? It wouldn’t stop any crime in the US or anywhere. Some people grow up with violent people and learn from them. As well, people have mental problems and physical problems in life. I’m even somewhat violent. That is because I’m currently on punishment for buying a pop filter. I’ll become violent when stuff like that happens. That part wasn’t to relevant, but you probably get what I mean from reading this whole paragraph.
NodiWolf
NodiWolf 2 years ago
It is not possible for the president to ban gaming. Worst case scenario is a heavier ratings system, which will have no effect on violence at all.
Muhammad Dayyaan
Muhammad Dayyaan 2 years ago
"Video games causes violence" is a fallacy, plain and simple.
OrionWarrior10
OrionWarrior10 2 years ago
It's weird cause I've got to give a speech in English on this topic
vocal procrastinating
So how did it go?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Hope it goes well
Atomic Number 9
Atomic Number 9 2 years ago
Tetris is just teaching kids to be anarchists and terrorist
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Glad someone's said it
Satan Clause
Satan Clause 2 years ago
It was a good video and you made good points but the music seemed very unfitting to what you were talking about. Maybe try for some different music next time?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Feedback noted, it was slightly different, although some people definitely like it so just gonna take it all into account.
Darker Elite the Pi Ninja
All I have to say is that multiple sources (trustworthy or otherwise) say that there is no connection
Michael’s Madness - Reviews
I see you used Doki Doki Literature Club music in this video.....I still have nightmares of Monaka... *shivers*
gote
gote 2 years ago
Michael Frederick Who is Monaka? I’ve played all through the game but i’ve never seen someone called Monaka
Godboundedbyrules
Godboundedbyrules 2 years ago
that doki doki soundtrack tho 👌
Randomnosity Forever
It honestly caught me off guard and confused me for a moment
Jacob Hill
Jacob Hill 2 years ago
Weeb. It's called Super Mario Bros. 2
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Banger
General Cataco
General Cataco 2 years ago
The news would desensitize people of violence more than video games.
Parker Haines
Parker Haines 2 years ago
Very true. Its very easy to seperate games from reality in a video game, but impossible to do when mass shooters these days are talked about and given infamy from the media all the time. Not to mention the amount of gore anybody can just accidentally stumble upon on the internet or the news is unprecedented.
Mint Lynx
Mint Lynx 2 years ago
Seems more like the news cares less about 'the children' and is more intent on slandering what is effectively keeping many people from watching their stuff, Video Games. They ain't earning money when you are gaming instead of watching their stuff.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
It is rather grim
Golden Budda
Golden Budda 2 years ago
Most of the people who believe in a correlation between shootings and video games look like they never touched a video game in their entire lives.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Good observation
Jake Truemper
Jake Truemper 2 years ago
Definitely a great one man, a very interesting and relevant topic!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you!
Positronium
Positronium 2 years ago
Ironic, it seems, how what these people are proposing happens to video games, is basically the same tactics with which have been proposed to control guns and this is aside from the fact that the proposal would have the same problems they argue gun control will have, but to an even more worse degree. How do you make sure younger children do not get a hold of it through their older sibling, and how do you ethically punish someone digesting a certain piece of content that does not violate rules that already exist unrelated to the media (i.e. child porn)? This isn't NK.
kxyoto
kxyoto 2 years ago
Good video dude. I don't know what to say about this one because I think it's a dead argument, not from your side. But from the people who propose the idea that video games are the sole creator of these school shooters, murderers,terrorists and so on.
kxyoto
kxyoto 2 years ago
True, not denying that.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah it's a supposedly dead argument but many people still use it.
Turkey Tom
Turkey Tom 2 years ago
Great video James, my favorite in a while. Keep it up :)
Zeeboq
Zeeboq 2 years ago
Okay cool
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Cheers man!
Ayy Lmao
Ayy Lmao 2 years ago
colossalllllll
gote
gote 2 years ago
yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Nooooooooooooooooo
Blast
Blast 2 years ago
Fellas, who else planning on making diamond sword and killing his whole school?
Pelleas
Pelleas 2 years ago
Gote the Capricorn Fucktard Rip.
gote
gote 2 years ago
BLast i dont have any diamonds because my gay boyfriend was a golddigger and stole all my diamonds.
Big Dumby
Big Dumby 2 years ago
Ayeee there’s Kentucky. It’s not really for a good reason, but we’re there.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
#MadeIt
Glady
Glady 2 years ago
All evidence that suggests video games cause violence is just that it increases aggression in the short term (just like anything that's engaging and competitive). As long as you aren't stupid and can distinguish video games from real life then there's no problem. If you can't distinguish video games from reality then you are the problem and removing video games will not fix anything - you'll find some other way to fuck up. Great use of background music by the way.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thanks dude, credit to Breaditor for the music, his taste is supreme
Next
The Dr. Phil Problem
07:42