Dark

The End Of Net Neutrality 

Views 7K
97% 71 2

Net neutrality, not had the best week has it? Yes, Ajit Pai, finally got his hands on it and managed to pass a vote to repeal it, three to two in the hearing.
This doesn’t surprise me, because at the end of the day nothing was gonna budge those commissioners, they were superglued to their position and you could tell that. As an aside point I must say, that Ajit Pai is a bit a rude knobhead, Mignon Clyburn made this really impassioned speech about the matter at hand and how it’s it could affect people, and afterwards, Mr. Pai just snidely says “I’m gonna mark you down as a no?”. I thought it was proper unprofessional, like wow. But anyway, that part’s all said and done for now.
It’ll now likely go to congress, and if you care about it then you should definitely give your congressman a buzz to let them know how you feel. This video has been made to wrap up some loose ends that weren’t quite addressed in my last one, and I hope I can do that sufficiently.
- Twitter: RightOpinionYT
- Patreon: www.patreon.com/therightopinion
- Discord: discord.gg/VKFReyr
- Edited by: us-first.info
- Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zany Jester, The Spanish Inn Physician, Yoo Toobah, Yerzi, Yeahsure, Bagsy, a7f, viirium, raener
- Thumbnail: us-first.info

Published on

 

Dec 24, 2017

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 32   
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
A lot of videos have addressed arguments around net neutrality itself, but in reflection I wanted to look back on the mishandling and lack of transparency that caused a lot of the panic that we have seen, have a Merry Christmas. CREDITS BELOW: - Edited by: us-first.info - Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zany Jester, The Spanish Inn Physician, Yoo Toobah, Yerzi, Yeahsure, Bagsy, a7f, viirium, raener - Thumbnail: us-first.info
TheUndeadslayer221
As someone who has read a majority of the relevant data, I can say with great certainty that Net Neutrality is Needed. The FCC was very clear with its intentions back in 2015, as they had had it with Verizon, Comcast and the others for their anti-competitive practices, so them moving ISPs to Title 2 was the logical decision.
Granville M
Granville M 2 years ago
You and your team have done great work this year. Have a safe and loving Christmas. *waves
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I'll ask the guy who did it
AnotherTerrible ContentCreator
Mind linking the background music?
Nikolai the tanker Husky
Still waiting for something to happen
Red M1911
Red M1911 3 months ago
Checking in two years after and... We're all dead...
Bogus Juan
Bogus Juan Year ago
I like coming to these vids just to see how deep the idiot hole people went about this stuff. Ironically I have hope they do start charging companies for bandwidth now. AT&T and the like taking a shit on YT, Facebook, etc. for their censorship would be hilarious
Justin Lewis
Justin Lewis Year ago
Oh look one year later... world still spinning and the internet is fine. So many low IQ sheep.
Plum Tuckered
Plum Tuckered Year ago
How's your internet doing?
Jacque Angry
Jacque Angry 2 years ago
regulation=bad. consumer protection=good.
Ernest Moreno
Ernest Moreno 2 years ago
you know two months has passed and everything is still fine
Ernest Moreno
Ernest Moreno 2 years ago
The Right Opinion you know I'm going to be honest this whole net neutrality thing sounds too good to be true ( sure it has good intentions but remember last time when something had that and it did not go well?)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yep, most of it hasn't even passed yet, I never said it was gonna be apocalypse now, and I certainly didn't believe it would happen over a short period of time.
The Pickle Behind The Slaughter
The biggest sin is Ajit Pais horrible editing with the light saber also why is he using a blue laser sword if he is dressed as a sith?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Symbolism
Spam Artist
Spam Artist 2 years ago
Am I safe from it here in Canada?
BananaNeptune
BananaNeptune 2 years ago
This is a pretty socialist action for a conservative administration, this is government sticking it's tentacles into the free internet. D O N ' T T R E A D O N M E !
Nima
Nima 2 years ago
rip
smudboy
smudboy 2 years ago
Didn't even understand the point of this video.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
You'd have to ask them to get a response on that matter specifically, but generally, unless an overwhelming amount of people complain I assume the video has done a fine job. I'm happy with it, most people are happy with it, I'm sorry that I couldn't make everyone happy with it. But I cannot please everyone. It is not my position to speculate about what thoughts they have from information that is too broad to speculate about. A majority of respondents to such videos don't express word for word their understanding, but more their opinion in response to such a video, I've had decent conversations with many friends and fans whom I agree/disagree with on this matter, the fact that people have been able to express such arguments on and off my US-first channel demonstrate a level of understanding for what I'm saying. If someone responds with 'I don't like Ajit Pai', that doesn't mean they don't understand the meaning of the video, that simply means that that is the reaction that this video has evoked. I don't expect page long theses and interpretations on my video, I make videos for people who enjoy my content, agree or disagree. I don't know what your second point has to do with anything, I don't address the 2010, nor 2015 ruling, in this video, I have addressed it in the past. Though, it is mostly accepted that there have been issues pre-2015, in spite of the fact that some are overstated by net neutrality proponents. I even address the fact that people are overreacting in this video. I'm not gonna spell this video out word for word, unless you insist (which then I will). But I don't make videos specifically for you. Title II is known typically as Net Neutrality, even Pai calls it that in his daily caller video, therefore ruling to nullify Title II would theoretically spell the 'end of net neutrality'. Now, although the ruling isn't final, and as I state, there is a reasonable chance that it may go to congress, it may well be the end, and reference to probable outcome titles are fairly common in this day and age.
smudboy
smudboy 2 years ago
Did they? They just seemed to get whatever they wanted to hear about it. All I heared was "Pai is bad. Talk to your congressman." And a lot of disconnected thoughts. The majority of US-first don't even know what the 2010 or 2015 OIO order was. They just see "my regulatory internet!" rules are being removed, as if this was ever a problem pre-2015. The title is "The End of Net Neutrality": what does that have to do what was stated? I hate to be the 5th grade English teacher here, but what are you trying to say?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I apologise if its intentions were not expressed clearly enough but many people seemed to understand what the messages this video was conveying. But I appreciate the feedback nonetheless.
ieatmyownass
ieatmyownass 2 years ago
I bloody love your mic quality, it brings out the daddy in your voice. What do you use?
ieatmyownass
ieatmyownass 2 years ago
Awesome, cheers
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Blue Yeti my dude
Kyunbio
Kyunbio 2 years ago
Great video. Subscribed.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you man!
Zimbo Gamer
Zimbo Gamer 2 years ago
Net neutrality more like dead topic
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
It'll be flaring up again if it goes to congress. My main concern is making sure my position is clear rather than cashing in on immediate views.
Granville M
Granville M 2 years ago
The Internet is global, so will this law in the USA affect us? Absolutely, but the corps are American...but the net is global. .... #sumink feels off, right, but off, and it feels like another big shaft up the ass. They are scrambling to control society before society controls them...mostly for profit and definitely for power. Corporate governance seems inevitable sometimes, and that is scary...so resist we must. Great part 2 update tro, thanks.
Adam Baldwin
Adam Baldwin 2 years ago
Alright, Ajit Pai is without a doubt, to borrow a term from the Brits, a bell end, and a troll, but I really think net neutrality is a scam. My belief in this goes all the way back to before it was instituted, back when it was just an idea being bandied about by politicians and corporations. The thing is, does anyone actually remember when net neutrality became a thing? I do, because I was confused as hell as to whether it was a good thing or a bad thing. Arguments from both sides sounded bad to me. Then there's how mainstream media, or at least the vocal creators and celebrity voices, have stated their case for net neutrality. The thing is, I keep hearing arguments FOR it and I'm not hearing much that is sound. I hear a lot of theorizing, a lot of scare tactics (ISPs now have magical powers they never had before!), and a lot of imagined scenarios. I mean, even the EFF is creating imaginary scenarios in order to try to defend net neutrality, and it sounds really fucking weak. The thing is that a lot of the arguments for net neutrality are built around lies, and a lot of the reasoning behind it is just fundamentally unsound, and consumers are being sold a shock scenario of the largest order in order to try to gain support for it... which, I'm not exactly sure why this is the case, as the consumers have no say in whether it stays or not. I think if people were more informed, they'd realize that not only do we not need it, but it's actually detrimental in some ways to the function of the internet as we know it. The Right Opinion, I highly value your opinion and I'm not dismissing it at all, in fact I take your arguments very seriously, and I almost always agree with them. However, I think if we as individuals are to grow intellectually, we must challenge our own opinions, as difficult as that can be. I must say, I just don't agree with you on this one. I think we're being sold a doomsday scenario and Ajit Pai, the dumbass that he is, is incompetently feeding into that belief instead of actually explaining what the hell is going on. I don't like the FCC at all, and I don't really feel there is even a need for an FCC, and I don't think the FCC is either capable or deserving to handle this issue, at all. I basically can't comment on a US-first video without leaving several paragraphs, and I apologize to anyone who has to put up with them. The thing is, I don't comment unless I have something to say. And I know that you, The Right Opinion, almost always (maybe always, I don't want to not give you credit you deserve) read my lengthy comments and actually respond to them, and I really appreciate that. Really, thank you so much, it feels good to be heard. And I'm not trying to say that you're wrong on this particular topic, but I would like you to maybe rethink this a little if possible. If you have a chance, watch the video that I will link below. I'm not affiliated with the channel in any way, it's just a great video that I happened to stumble across on the topic. It brings up a number of good points and has solidified my opinion on net neutrality. It has also helped me understand why I was so confused when net neutrality was first being discussed: because it's obviously not a clear win for consumers. I'll shut up now and here is the video. us-first.info/player/video/mr6LmoB5fGZ3Z2Q.html Thanks for reading, and thanks for watching the video. My only goal is to help ourselves question our opinions and be as informed as we can possibly be.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I've watched the video, in fact people have linked me it so much that I may have to address it myself.
tsobf242
tsobf242 2 years ago
If you haven't seen 1791L's video on NN, it's worth a watch. If nothing else, it's good for the citations in the description.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I did watch it, it was alright, but it's a lot of style over substance imo. Lots of quotes that really build up to nothing most of the time, you really have to take his content with a grain of salt because he argues such a one sided perspective. It sounds convincing at the time but if you look back on his stuff a lot of his prophecies don't typically come true.
1st class Nigerian
1st class Nigerian 2 years ago
I hate their excuse, "but, the internet survived so long without it." Have they not seen some of the shit they tried back in the day?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Indeed
Captain Fish Eye
Captain Fish Eye 2 years ago
i gave up arguing cause its lost its meaning for a bit, but i haven't changed my opinions.
Captain Fish Eye
Captain Fish Eye 2 years ago
thanks papa
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I getchu
Toni Bamanaboni
Toni Bamanaboni 2 years ago
Supreme court that shit.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
We live in hope.
TJ Blaidd
TJ Blaidd 2 years ago
Well there goes 2/3 of Trump's Obama Crossover voters! Good luck with your next campaign chump!
A la creme De la black
Heee is abit uf ey NuBhED
absolute bs
absolute bs 2 years ago
History records ..the effect of deregulation on the cable industry, not to mention the airlines. Corporate greed is insatiable. They'll have a feast over the internet.
absolute bs
absolute bs 2 years ago
You not alone. That's why we .. resist.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I really find it hard to trust them.
Carlo Simone
Carlo Simone 2 years ago
This whole situation has just made me hope the repeal of Net Neutrality doesn't happen in the UK.
BadSniper7
BadSniper7 2 years ago
UK probably listens to American government better than Americas own government lol. I'm sure they'd realize not to be dumb as our dumb cunts of a government.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
We shall work to make sure it doesn't happen.
Rambose
Rambose 2 years ago
man is back
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
You know it
MechaPuma
MechaPuma 2 years ago
This ruling was absolutely the most undemocratic one in my lifetime. Not only did democrats get almost no say, but even _republicans_ hate this ruling! Ajit Pai isn't the main one to blame either, as Trump assigned him chairman of the FCC in order to rollback internet regulations.
Austin Larson
Austin Larson 2 years ago
MechaPuma Obama gave him a job at the fcc, trump appointed him to chairman, trump also has the same approval ratings as Obama did in his first,year
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
A lot of the internet was essential to getting Trump elected, definitely a shot in the foot for the Republicans if it his American citizens hard.
blunderly
blunderly 2 years ago
It's one thing to make an unpopular ruling. It's another to then rub it in their face.
Justin Lewis
Justin Lewis Year ago
@The Right Opinion and you idiots were wrong. Congratulations you played yourself sheep.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Exactly
AveragePixel
AveragePixel 2 years ago
Welcome back internet freedom, am i right kids?
AveragePixel
AveragePixel 2 years ago
Call me dad again ;)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Too right dad
Tera
Tera 2 years ago
FINALLY
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
You know it
Luxility
Luxility 2 years ago
But like.. He kinda cute tho
Spam Artist
Spam Artist 2 years ago
Luxility that point really contradicts itself. Do you even know what you're talking about?
GreenTurtleinHD
GreenTurtleinHD 2 years ago
Yeah the ugly cute, like a pug
Dank, Danker, yet Danker
He is a sweetie pai
AnotherTerrible ContentCreator
BarcrestPlays - Fruit Machines jk
AnotherTerrible ContentCreator
Get help..
Next
The Zipf Mystery
21:05