Dark

My BEST Songs Of 2017 

Views 6K
95% 58 3

Best Songs of 2017, Top 25, originally meant to be a top 20 is here, selected from a top 50, I had to cut the number in half, with some hearbreaking decisions, honourable mentions and list below. Enjoy the best songs of the year.
Honourable Mentions: Chronixx - I Can, Eliza And The Bear - Hell, courtship. - sunroof, FAUX - Take Back Time, Catherine McGrath - Talk Of This Town, Switchfoot - I Won’t Let You Go, Khalid - 8Teen, Arcade Fire - Signs Of Life, Fitz & The Tantrums - Fool, Pale Seas - Into The Night
25. Late Night Episode - Talk About Love
24. Liam Gallagher - Greedy Soul
23. watt - Burning Man (ft. Post Malone)
22. Dan Croll - Tokyo
21. The War on Drugs - Pain
20. A R I Z O N A - Cross My Mind (Part 2) ft. Kiiara
19. Dylan Gardner - Can’t Stop Thinking
18. Joey Bada$$ - LAND OF THE FREE
17. The Amazons - Junk Food Forever
16. Kodaline - Ready To Change
15. Will Joseph Cook - Biggest Fan
14. Logic - Black Spiderman (ft. Damian Lemar Hudson)
13. Geowulf - Won’t Look Back
12. Tom Walker - Karma
11. Dan Caplen feat. RAY BLK - Flat Champagne
10. Halsey feat. Lauren Jauregui - Strangers
9. Ed Sheeran - Castle On The Hill
8. All Time Low - Last Young Renegade
7. Sonny - Princess
6. Stormzy - Blinded By Your Grace, Pt. 2 (feat. MNEK)
5. Tom Walker - Leave A Light On
4. Deaf Havana - Ashes, Ashes
3. John Mayer - In The Blood
2. Lorde - Perfect Places
1. Little Giants - Brother
- Twitter: RightOpinionYT
- Patreon: www.patreon.com/therightopinion
- Discord: discord.gg/VKFReyr
- Edited by: BenjaminRogersX
- Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zany Jester, The Spanish Inn Physician, Yoo Toobah, Yerzi, Yeahsure, a7f, viirium, raener, The King Cow Show, Duster, LiquoricePepsi
- Thumbnail: us-first.info/more/yuNHQVfhMgszyJ2FRPfHUg

Published on

 

Jan 12, 2018

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 64   
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
This is the first time we've tried so be nice ;), we've already agreed on a couple changes for next year, but I hope you guys are entertained nonetheless. CREDITS BELOW: - Edited by: twitter.com/BenjaminRogersX - Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zany Jester, The Spanish Inn Physician, Yoo Toobah, Yerzi, Yeahsure, a7f, viirium, raener, The King Cow Show, Duster, LiquoricePepsi - Thumbnail: twitter.com/NotReallyJacket
Glenkobski Smol
Glenkobski Smol 2 years ago
The Right Opinion thats what she said
dark.demon .queen
dark.demon .queen 3 months ago
I literally listen to music at least two hours every day! It must’ve been hard to pick just a few songs to talk about. Cheers.
Shinji Ikari
Shinji Ikari 8 months ago
I can't handle the fact that this is a man who can genuinely use the word "wench" in his videos, seemingly unironically.
Fretful Toast
Fretful Toast 8 months ago
How does this only have 5k views
CH2517Joan
CH2517Joan 9 months ago
Absolutely loved it! Of course it's just a snapshot and I'd like for you to do this every year or so, just to see where you go.
Don Bigus
Don Bigus 11 months ago
hey man , i love your videos , but god dam your taste is music is well.... girly as fuck.
Auset Ali
Auset Ali Year ago
Went song hunting, hit the jackpot cuz I'm over here pausin the video tryna look up the song like
Revenge Raptor
I have a deep appreciation for the way you describe the ins and outs of music that you enjoy. Personally, I'm not entirely skilled in musical things, but I am a writing nerd myself, and your use of big words to convey just how strongly you feel about a particular song goes deeper and further past "I just like this" is something I just can't help but appreciate. You don't just like a song, you have reasons, you feel it, or it feels you, or you just wish you could feel it like the songwriter clearly did, but nonetheless music connects harder than we think. And I don't get to see very many people that understand and can convey that through words. I know this video is, like, two years old, but it was worth my time, and I would not be opposed to seeing another one if you ever decide to make another top songs list. Bravo, James, articulate and passionate as always.
O. Steinman
O. Steinman Year ago
Perfect Places
bosh
bosh Year ago
Totally late to the party with this one! Ok, so I don't like much on this list, but the way you break it down and explain it from a musician viewpoint I can respect. Just like your normal videos where I usually have no idea who the person is, I do enjoy your analysis of them. I feel like I live under a rock, but I'm old haha and still listen to the same shit from high school.
B P
B P Year ago
This reminded me that the most passionate about music are the ones who are usually the best at expressing that love. And you are definitely passionate. This video made my night, and I hope you do something like this for 2019.
Aurorain
Aurorain 2 years ago
The only song i know from this vid is "karma" i think ive heard it *SOMEWHERE* before
MusicMelody
MusicMelody 2 years ago
Wow, what a fucking fantastic way to end the video. I am definitely glad that I decided to listen to this while studying for finals because damn that was just what I needed to hear to make it through this week. Thank you
100% Beef
100% Beef 2 years ago
I really enjoyed this
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Excellent news
AllAroundMan
AllAroundMan 2 years ago
In the dark rain the dead mountains sing a sad song of winter and the howling wind
Ian R
Ian R 2 years ago
Interesting, are you interested in any pre-2000s artists?
Ria G
Ria G 2 years ago
You put my feelings about castle on the hill into words perfectly, and i loved almost all of the songs on your list :)
Noodle Media America
You have a great taste in music. Never added more songs to my playlist in my life.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you!
jannick Redmoon
jannick Redmoon 2 years ago
i'm not one who write a lot of comments but i just wanted to say that you have a misspell on one of your Honourable Mentions where you say FAUX - Turn Back Time, but it's FAUX - Take Back Time and on Catherine McGrath - Talk Of The Town but it's Catherine McGrath - Talk Of This Town hope you dont take it the wrong way just wanted to mention it
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Appreciate the info
037_
037_ 2 years ago
I had never heard basically all of these songs, but I enjoyed damn near every one of them. Love the list, thank you for exposing me to new music!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you!
northdakotagamer
northdakotagamer 2 years ago
Did you make a play list with these songs?
northdakotagamer
northdakotagamer 2 years ago
The Right Opinion Your production quality makes it look like you're not a small enough US-firstr to be able to respond to all of your comments so your quick response was unexpected and appreciated
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I couldn't as it was linked to my personal account, however, someone in this comment section did and left a link. However, next year I will have a playlist
Match Ashes
Match Ashes 2 years ago
There's a channel you may enjoy called tod in the shadows.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah I'm a fan
alex harvey
alex harvey 2 years ago
Excellent fucking video - enjoyed it all
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you!
Da Bossman
Da Bossman 2 years ago
W for land of the free
Alan Keypreck
Alan Keypreck 2 years ago
Holy shit this channel is dynamite
Dan Robinson
Dan Robinson 2 years ago
BROCHAMPTON
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
B A N G E R
Dan Robinson
Dan Robinson 2 years ago
The Right Opinion Fly as a jet, boy better treat me with respect
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Keep a gold chain on my neck
Charlise Bar-Shai
Charlise Bar-Shai 2 years ago
I am not really a big fan of mainstream pop, but god fucking damn, some of these songs are amazing.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you!
Titus Bacchus
Titus Bacchus 2 years ago
No Steroids Crouchig Tiger Hidden Gabber Megamix? :(
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
:'(
FLOWER CLUB
FLOWER CLUB 2 years ago
ummmmmm... you forgot chinless by lil cheezy....
FLOWER CLUB
FLOWER CLUB 2 years ago
cant believe you forgot it tbh
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
That timeless classic
Aum Patel
Aum Patel 2 years ago
You should start making us Spotify playlists, I like your taste
Mixed Socks
Mixed Socks Year ago
The Right Opinion have you done it yet?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I should sometime
Max Salusky
Max Salusky 2 years ago
Ok I'm done trying to find a silver lining. You genuinely suck. Everything about your channel, your painful wannabe hipster shit voice, you try so hard yet keep failing. And yet you think you're so right. The Wrong Opinion is definitely what's showing.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Ok I’m done trying to find a silver lining. You genuinely suck. Everything about your channel, your painful wannabe hipster shit voice, you try so hard but yet keep failing. And yet you think you’re so right. The Wrong Opinion is definitely what’s showing.
Not Dom
Not Dom 2 years ago
Ok I’m done trying to find a silver lining. You genuinely suck. Everything about your channel, your painful wannabe hipster shit voice, you try so hard but yet keep failing. And yet you think you’re so right. The Wrong Opinion is definitely what’s showing.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Hahahaha
Marshy Marshy
Marshy Marshy 2 years ago
You listen to any of the Brockhampton projects, TRO?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah I did!
dor burgher
dor burgher 2 years ago
Poo poo butthole
dor burgher
dor burgher 2 years ago
Best sang best minion stinky poo poo fart
Seán
Seán 2 years ago
Awesome to see a really long music video from you. Even though it's not your usual type of content, you are really great at it and if you made more stuff like this it would be brilliant. As someone who likes to think that he knows his music quite well, I hadn't even heard of a lot of these artists, so I'm definitely gonna try to check some of this stuff out. I do particularly love Perfect Places, although I chose to put Writer In The Dark on my list instead, cause I love her vocal performance on that track. Also think that the Stormzy track is great even though it's not his usual sort of thing, I really enjoyed a lot of the gospel influenced stuff on his new record, included that song.
RevMatchTV
RevMatchTV 2 years ago
Tom Walker is new to me! I’m gonna check him out. The War On Drugs made perhaps my favorite album from last year. Hello from Twitter!
RevMatchTV
RevMatchTV 2 years ago
That Halsey track slays! Beautiful 80s dark synthpop.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Awesome! Hello!
MikeTheBike
MikeTheBike 2 years ago
Very much enjoyed this Hope you do more videos on music
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I hope I have the opportunity to!
niamh c
niamh c 2 years ago
where do you find such a variety of music? so many of these sound great but i'd never stumble upon them on my own
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
New Music Friday and reviews mostly
Daniel Holleman
Daniel Holleman 2 years ago
So I wanted to listen to all the songs in the top 25 so I made a spotify playlist. If anyone wants to listen to it too: open.spotify.com/user/aiycpqhic83mfs4qbuubzk1gh/playlist/3CFL3HZA9spguIM1VA0DVE here is the link (my goodness that is a long link)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Ayy awesome dude
Adam Neuser
Adam Neuser 2 years ago
I’m going to listen to some of these because I haven’t heard them.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Nice!
AveragePixel
AveragePixel 2 years ago
You've got a very interesting selection here
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I do
June
June 2 years ago
Fantano got Some competition
Aurorain
Aurorain 2 years ago
Very competition ÒwÓ
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
He better watch out
Tryto beJolly
Tryto beJolly 2 years ago
LAND OF THE FREE is a lil left for the right opinion don't you think?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
You don't have to wholly endorse a message to appreciate it
MahmoudYRN
MahmoudYRN 2 years ago
Ayy you listen to big stormz
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
You know it
electricvv
electricvv 2 years ago
Taste
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
:)
The Narrator
The Narrator 2 years ago
Where is Owl City >:(
Relievedmoon
Relievedmoon 2 years ago
Damn narrator bows his memes 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Dead
Josh E-S
Josh E-S 2 years ago
Great video, I listen to almost solely rap because mainstream pop is garbage, but im happy you've made me aware of Tom walker cause he seems pretty good
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Glad you enjoyed my dude!
Rambose
Rambose 2 years ago
Righthony Opiniontano
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
TheOpinionDrop
A la creme De la black
Hello there kind sir, have you heard any 2pac songs cause I thing you’ll like some of them like “changes” Cool song pool anyway
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah I know them dude!
absolute bs
absolute bs 2 years ago
Name another creator who puts as much work into a 'list' vid.. JC man! Totally Tasty vid!
Doco
Doco 2 years ago
yes
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Agreed
JARBS
JARBS 2 years ago
I have literally never heard any of these songs
Keith Erickson
Keith Erickson 2 years ago
Same here, and what's stranger, even though I'm not a country music fan, that one in the honorable mentions was the most captivating thing I heard in the whole video
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
That's fine I wouldn't expect you to
Mayor of Ohio
Mayor of Ohio 2 years ago
Pure Comedy tho. THAT was the best song of 2017. Listen to it right now on Spotify!! (if you've never)
atlas
atlas Year ago
Damn, I’m eleven months late but that is a beautiful song.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I know it
Jude Lind
Jude Lind 2 years ago
Really nice video, dude. Your content recently has been all really good and kinda wanna makes me get off my lazy ass and produce videos.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Make it happen my dude!
Bricc Thicc
Bricc Thicc 2 years ago
I'm so grateful for this video because i never get around to looking for songs on my own.
Bricc Thicc
Bricc Thicc 2 years ago
Karma is my new fav song now.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Ah I'm glad it's been somewhat useful
Bricc Thicc
Bricc Thicc 2 years ago
Great video mate, i'm going to add a lot of these to my spotify playlist. I would've had "Let You Down" by NF in there though.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Fair fair man
randomguy156
randomguy156 2 years ago
Good video I believe this is still the best playlist of all time though open.spotify.com/user/ww3r4q7en7lpk06at8cyguof9/playlist/6LHGD8cw1I2ZuqD0TsAwCo?si=F_yNrbf6RFqK21DumGGF6A
randomguy156
randomguy156 2 years ago
The Right Opinion yes instant classics
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Only bangers
Gallus gallus domesticus
Next thing you know Tro is gonna do Minecraft let's plays.
Aurorain
Aurorain 2 years ago
I would probably watch it xD
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
That would be a turn of character.
Desperate Mohammedan the World's Strongest Arab
Kind of makes me glad I no longer even hear pop music. This video probably wasn't aimed at me...
Desperate Mohammedan the World's Strongest Arab
I might have heard them. it's just odd to realise I've reached that point in my life where i no longer knowingly encounter pop music (helped no doubt by the fact I don't watch any TV) I have to admit i liked some of the snippets I heard in this video, some of it was pretty imaginative and interesting, but much of it I just didn't get.
June
June 2 years ago
Desperate Mohammedan the World's Strongest Arab ever listened to Charlie xcx?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Probably...
Scared Potter? You wish.
Arcade Fire is such an amazing band
Citral
Citral 2 years ago
Number 1. Unbreakable
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Obviously
JPNDN
JPNDN 2 years ago
I disagree, a lot. But fair play for making this
Kunvulin
Kunvulin 2 years ago
You didn't even watch the whole video. It's only been out for 12 minutes at the time of this comment, and the video is 35 minutes long.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Cool.
Scared Potter? You wish.
👏All👏Time👏Low👏
Jammy Namtron
Jammy Namtron 2 years ago
Punk/Alt/Indie is my favourite genres
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I feel that
impossible TV
impossible TV 2 years ago
Fuck yes Liam Gallagher
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
You know it
Next