Dark

Jay-Z and Rap Culture 

Views 3.6K
98% 35 1

- Twitter: RightOpinionYT
- Patreon: www.patreon.com/therightopinion
- Discord: discord.gg/VKFReyr
- Edited by: us-first.info
- Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zany Jester, Electro, The Spanish Inn Physician, Yoo Toobah, Yerzi, Adam, SoulTrex.
- Thumbnail: us-first.info/more/yuNHQVfhMgszyJ2FRPfHUg
Today we’re looking at Jay-Z, his song, The Story of O.J., and the messages it connotes and the political implications it addresses, and maybe some other music that this harkens or links to.
The Story of O.J. was the lead single off Jay Z’s latest album 4:44, a generally perceived return to form from Mr. Carter. The song itself primarily addresses OJ Simpson, his rejection of black culture throughout a lot of his professional career, and the ‘Trial of the Century’ that; in itself, had a lot of racial reparations, there is also another message about general wealth. Jay-Z’s message is that it is important to hold onto your money, and more importantly pass it on as generational wealth, in the song he says ‘Fuck livin’ rich and dyin’ broke’ which is a reference. Many may strain to exactly link these two diverse topics, but for me it states that O.J.’s general rejection of black culture, meant that he distanced himself through individualism, and in a way failed to show himself as a role model.
And in a way, like a lot of his critiques throughout the album, Jay Z feels that there are changes that need to be made, especially through the way that many of those cultural magnates treat money.

Published on

 

Aug 27, 2017

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 32   
Jardins MonteVerde
Do you have an explanation for all the "iluminati" signs behind him and his wife? You are a smart man. What do you think?
RED RED
RED RED 5 months ago
Many thanks
Yagami Raito
Yagami Raito 3 years ago
I also like the song Starboy by The Weeknd and how it illusrates the rich rapper life accurately. In one verse he's bragging about how he "made your whole year in a week-two" (Ah) and in the other he's saying that his house is "so empty" and how he can "kill any pain". I think that the "rapper" character is not very keen on being wise with money and is more interested in shallow appearances and cheap (actually expensive) thrills. The unreachable lifestyle is appealing to a much wider audience. It sells, even though its message is harmful.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Starboy plays off such a great bidirectional message, finding great solemnity in the glamour, completely agree.
jake from state farm
Do vaporwave next
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Oh God
Fevish
Fevish 3 years ago
Speaking of rap, loved you in the song roast duck.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
;)
1789W
1789W 3 years ago
50 cents leaked rick ross wife sextape 5 years ago. She won a 5 million dollar lawsuit against him, he declared bankruptcy for strategic reasons and within the lawsuit context. He even showed how everything such as properties, cars and all these things were just rented for video clips. Like how did u miss that ? I feel like you just a jay z fan or something like that.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
A mistake, we all make them.
Sealdrop
Sealdrop 3 years ago
nick crompton?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Collar stay popping.
Cloudflame
Cloudflame 3 years ago
*rocks back and forth* Existential crisis impending. Well argued :)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thank you!
Skaffuh
Skaffuh 3 years ago
I'm a hip hop head and I was concerned by the title because it says "rap culture" lol the culture is called hip-hop culture but regardless this was a really well made video. You did a great job illustrating Jay's points about materialism in the culture. I think its time we see materialism and the glorification of drugs and violence die out in this culture because I can see how its effecting the kids. I see 14 year olds saying "im off a xan" because they listen to lil pump. Their also placing their entire worth on superficial things like who has the new supreme gear or yeezys. It's toxic and its stopping kids from finding their purpose and who they are as people because they're constantly having this idea of "if you dont have a rolex you aint shit" shoved down their throats by "role models" and at 15 that can have a lot of bearing on ones mental health. I guess what I'm saying is I'm glad we have OG's like Jay still sharing their wisdom with the younger generation I'm just afraid they're not listening :/ Sorry for the long comment I'm just really passionate lol
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah, I thought he seemed alright to be honest.
Skaffuh
Skaffuh 3 years ago
no problem I appreciate your content, and btw 50 cent did file for bankruptcy but he was doing it so he didnt have to pay rick ross's girl, hes got 2 big shows on major networks and sold his stake in vitamin water for heaps, hes never actually been in financial strife
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Appreciate the comment man, it is a really interesting topic that there's a lot to be said about.
Big Baloney Nips
Big Baloney Nips 3 years ago
Have you ever considered streaming?
Big Baloney Nips
Big Baloney Nips 3 years ago
The Right Opinion do you have a twitch?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
I have and I may well do.
Big Baloney Nips
Big Baloney Nips 3 years ago
Eh lil pump is better "D rose D rose D rose 20 on my wrist" unbeatable lyrics
Hibatchi
Hibatchi 3 years ago
444 was good
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Agreed
Brain In A Cat
Brain In A Cat 3 years ago
good video dawg. different then most the others but i like that you sometimes take a break
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thank you my man
Titus Bacchus
Titus Bacchus 3 years ago
sorry i had to flag you for copyright reasons
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
No
MS
MS 3 years ago
Jay Z seems like a neat guy. You ever hear 'Heart of The City'?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
I haven't, will have to add it to my list
MS
MS 3 years ago
Your intro keeps breaking my speakers. But good video anyway
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Ah right, thanks man though.
A la creme De la black
Who is your favourite rapper/hip-hop artist?
Not Dom
Not Dom 3 years ago
The Right Opinion have you listened to the new Tyler the creator album yet?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Kendrick Lamar probably my favourite for just consistency, though this year my favourite album was by Joey Bada$$
lyddo
lyddo 3 years ago
another video from senpai oh yes boi-!!!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeaheheh
Jake
Jake 3 years ago
I used to think story of oj was just a preachy song about slavery and how important black lives matter and shit. But you helped me see the real meanings. Thanks
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
No problem man.
Jennifer The Yowie Hunter
When you were talking about politics and music I thought you were about to say bob dylan, even though it's 1960s politics some black Issues are still around
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Ah yeah it's just something I kinda cared about in this instance. Music throughout generations have been politically apt.
Olipungus
Olipungus 3 years ago
The Left Opinion
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Whoa
Am Smef
Am Smef 3 years ago
Your'e only makeing a diss track to get rellevant!!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
No disstrack to be seen here
Knucklehead McSpazzatron
I very much enjoy hearing your thoughts on music, James. Thanks for this one
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
You're welcome, and thank you for watching
absolute bs
absolute bs 3 years ago
Humm.. you pretty fly for a white guy!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Good reference
Maddie Brat
Maddie Brat 3 years ago
I LOVE THIS VIDEO
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
I love this comment
oExplictt
oExplictt 3 years ago
Good Video TRO. I personally agree with Jay & i also think what he was saying on The Story of O.J was very realistic. What he was saying has alot of valuable points in my opinion.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah I definitely think that too.
Cara
Cara 3 years ago
peew
lomhow1234
lomhow1234 3 years ago
2:03 but didn't rock do the same thing in 1970s and 1980s?
Greeley
Greeley 3 years ago
Fragmented R I actually listen to a lot of Finnish rock bands, I don't know if it's just my perspective but it seems rock culture is still alive and well there. Even what's labelled as pop there has more rock to it than the kind of pop you get here in North America
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
To an extent, though it was definitely a different type of lifestyle being advertised.
I SMASH TO REDBONE
I SMASH TO REDBONE 3 years ago
Good stuff
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks man
Not Dom
Not Dom 3 years ago
THE STORY OF OJ IN THE BACKGROUND I LOVE THIS VIDEO JAMES
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
I made it for you
Omar views
Omar views 3 years ago
4:20
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Blaze
spanish man
spanish man 3 years ago
stop
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Apologies for the problematic audio, should be sorted out by next recording sess. Rap Critic did a more specific video analysing the more lyrical side of the song, I would recommend that: us-first.info/player/video/b7FinoaFoJtjonk.html . Credits below: - Edited by: us-first.info - Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zany Jester, Electro, The Spanish Inn Physician, Yoo Toobah, Yerzi, Adam, SoulTrex. - Thumbnail: us-first.info/more/yuNHQVfhMgszyJ2FRPfHUg
Next