Dark

Gamers Excited To Get Their Own Disorder 

Views 20K
98% 195 2

Gaming To Get Its Own Disorder! - gaming opinion
Today we talk about gaming or more specifically, the gaming disorder 2018 announcement. In breaking news, internet gaming 2018 is becoming its own mental health condition. In our discussion about gaming mental health and gaming addiction, we discuss the future of gaming and games 2018, what this decision means and how it will affect gamers out there.
Inspirations for this video:
us-first.info/player/video/jcd_aKWfgWaAlXk.html ("Gaming Addiction" now considered a Mental Disorder by PrestigeisKey)
us-first.info/player/video/hJepg6picm2ZbIE.html ("Gaming Disorder is Now an Official Mental Condition?! by ProtoMario)
us-first.info/player/video/p6uimpB5n5h6Z58.html (Gaming Disorder to be classified as mental health condition by MundaneMatt)
us-first.info/player/video/aM9_nYWVYo9fbHk.html (Games That'll Blow Everyone Away In 2018 by Looper)

- Twitter: RightOpinionYT
- Patreon: www.patreon.com/therightopinion
- Discord: discord.gg/VKFReyr
- Edited by: us-first.info
- Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zany Jester, The Spansh Inn Physician, Yoo Toobah, Yerzi, Yeahsure, a7f, viirium, raener, The King Cow Show, Duster, LiquoricePepsi
- Thumbnail: us-first.info/more/yuNHQVfhMgszyJ2FRPfHUgi

Published on

 

Jan 24, 2018

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 92   
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yes I'm aware I spoke so fast it sounds like I snorted a line of cocaine before recording, I thought the effects would've worn off from the night before but it happens. CREDITS BELOW. - Edited by: us-first.info - Special Thanks To: Nocty, Zany Jester, The Spansh Inn Physician, Yoo Toobah, Yerzi, Yeahsure, a7f, viirium, raener, The King Cow Show, Duster, LiquoricePepsi - Thumbnail: us-first.info/more/yuNHQVfhMgszyJ2FRPfHUgi
Katie is Correct
Katie is Correct 2 years ago
The Right Opinion Have you ever heard that song Informer? I urge you to watch that music video. That’s what listening to you is like sometimes, but it’s all gud
Clay Dude
Clay Dude 2 years ago
I thought you sounded just fine my dude. :-)
TheMasterKrook
TheMasterKrook 2 years ago
The Right Opinion calling you out on apparently not having a stash of cocaine in the back. Pass me some rq, it'll be our secret
Brooks Faucette
Brooks Faucette 24 days ago
Gaming is extremely easily accessible, it gives you feelings of success and improvement, unlike sports practice generally involves just playing the game itself and very little physical exertion is required. It can provide good story, music, competitiveness, and it often looks very nice. It is the pinnacle of modern entertainment considering it covers so much ground so well. So it makes sense that people get hooked.
Wosty
Wosty 5 months ago
They call gaming an "Epidemic". *Ahhhhhhhh* _Those were simpler_
Brian Fleming
Brian Fleming 9 months ago
TRO I appreciate as always that you refrain from fear mongering when presenting controversial and possibly health concerning topics, I feel like I see too much of the alternative so very often.
Jed
Jed Year ago
The xbox disorder?
game exe
game exe Year ago
what they call gaming disorder is just a symptom of a much bigger problem with the person and taking gaming away would just make them find another way to self destrct
TrueXenith
TrueXenith Year ago
Be warned Tro, you have made an enemy of the gamer army. Mark my words, after the furries are annihilated, you’re next.
A.S. Minor
A.S. Minor Year ago
I am an avid #MentalHealthAwareness advocate and performer, and I love this so much. I travel the country trying to bring that awareness on stages, in classrooms, hospitals, and on my US-first channel, so I get excited when I see other advocates. 💙❤
lea's tanuki
lea's tanuki 2 years ago
Mom says it's my turn on the disorder.
Maxwell Slater
Maxwell Slater 2 years ago
gamers rise up
CircleOfSorrow
CircleOfSorrow 2 years ago
There are games that exploit the dopamine response to success in risky behaviour. Games like World of Tanks use gambling mechanics to give players peaks of success in between gameplay where only mediocrity or poor outcomes are possible due to RNG. You can purchase in game currency in order to get very small advantages in game, and there are players that openly admit to playing the game a massive number of hours every day. If only real life could provide the same feelings of accomplishment that pixel life can for these people.
1God1Fury
1God1Fury 2 years ago
if a video game has purchasable currency/xp/ or any gameplay benefits for real money - I'm out there. I *despise* people who buy such benefits and companies that allowed such mechanics. I feel cheated and not equal in a game where skill or time required to achieve your goals or victory in competition.
Pikachu THE GAY ATHEIST
I think a better classification would be called Behavioral Addictive Disorder, or BAD. The reason is because the disorder has to be a result of addictions to the game that are prior to patient involvement with console gaming with the exception of microtransactions, and internet gambling with in the game using microtransactions. Due to the effects of these types of disorders it should be illegal in all countries for microtransactions to exist in games.
woomy
woomy 2 years ago
The title of this video reads like an onion headline
Travel & Gaming
Travel & Gaming 2 years ago
"I'm not crazy... Im a gamer !!"
Blu_eyes Dragon
Blu_eyes Dragon 2 years ago
The “gaming disorder” has been used as a fear tactic at least in my country because of misinformation and misunderstanding of the disorder and misinterpretation. Parents with the overprotecting personality have taken away the opportunity and luxury of gaming that could improve other aspects such as reading and speech development and problem solving which I find a waste
Kurosora Ryuga
Kurosora Ryuga 2 years ago
Well, pretty much anything can be addictive but it does make sense to emphasize the more common ones such as gaming. The laws in countries such as south korea as you mentioned are what i find to be bogus. Ofc, the parents are the ones buying the gadgets for these children to begin with so they should regulate what their child does and make sure that they are growing up properly, though let's be honest, most parents end up indoctrinating their child to an extent. I think schools should put emphasis on critical thinking bcos parents may not be teaching their children this. Having grown up in a very relgious country, I can testify that people are indeed getting indoctrinated. "Listen to your parents and you shall live a long life" we are taught from a young age that you should always listen to your parents, that they know whats best for you. Ofc gaming and other stuff, bad. The media you consume? Bad. Heck even your thoughts themselves are regulated. Micromanagement a concept that makes people more obedient to the system. I wont deny that most parents at least want what's best for you but damn it do they rarely know what that is. They think they know though, they always do. For they as well have been treated that way as a child. Anyway, got off on a tangent. The way i see it, as long as a disorder does not infringe on anyone else's rights, then people should be allowed to indulge in them. Take me for example. I havent rly gotten a diagnosis yet but i ost definitely have ADHD. Even if I were to be diagnosed, I would never ever ever take medication for it, bcos while it may be classified as a mental disorder i like. I like being this way, and i wont trade it for anything.
Dot Nerd
Dot Nerd 2 years ago
Games can be insanely expensive, especially micro-transactions... My gosh, if anyone loses their house because they paid too much on Candy Crush, all gamers might be screwed to propaganda and fear mongering.
Conservative Pisces 3192
There's No Such Thing As Gaming Addiction, Or Playing Video Games Too Long/Much. The WHO Was Wrong In Classifying Excessive Gaming As A Mental Disorder. If They're Gonna Call Excessive Gaming A Mental Disorder Then They Need To Call Everything That's Done Excessively A Mental Disorder. Video Games Do Not Cause Mental Disorders, They Relieve The Symptoms Of Mental Disorders. The WHO Does Not Give A Damn About Anyone, But Their Fucking Money. If They Did Care Then They Would Push To Outlaw Pills That Have Horrible Side Effects, & They Would Push To Legalize Marijuana, Because Weed Is An Herb That GOD Put On This Earth For Us All To Smoke (It Does Not Have Any Negative Side Effects & It Should Be Legalized For Both Medical & Recreational Use). The WHO & Anyone That Agrees With Their Decision To Classify Excessive Gaming As A Mental Disorder Are Nothing But A Bunch Of Fucking Communistic/Socialist Retards That Do Not Know Jack Shit About Gamers Or Video Games & They Deserve To Be Whipped Off Of The Face Of This Planet. FUCK THE WHO & YOU COMMUNISTIC/SOCIALIST RETARDS THAT AGREE WITH THEM, EXCESSIVE GAMING IS NOT A REAL MENTAL DISORDER. IT BE NICE IF SOMEONE WHO EITHER BOMB OR SHOOT UP EVERY SINGLE WHO (WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION) BUILDING/OFFICE. THEY WOULD BE DOING THE GAMING COMMUNITY & PEOPLE WITH REAL MENTAL DISORDER A FAVOR.
Bugzy Hardrada
Bugzy Hardrada 2 years ago
Okay nice video.... But only one question remains on my mind..... How many home schooled alcoholic 5years olds are there in ye ol England? It just never occurred to me... But now, come to think of it, it explains alot....ALOT...!! 😁😜😁
AllAroundMan
AllAroundMan 2 years ago
My dad has tennis disorder
TheVsagent
TheVsagent 2 years ago
High productivity > High stress > Disorderly conduct that hurts productivity > Costly treatment > Unhappy electorate > Government intervention > Private profits affected > New technology designed to help people to better avoid excesses, manage their disorders and increase their tolerance to stress > Even higher productivity > Rinse & repeat
Alph Blishtarl
Alph Blishtarl 2 years ago
So a lot of the cases of death regarding video games are stating that these people were playing for a consecutive period of time. I believe it is due to one surrendering all mental faculties to the game for too long. If a person were to play a sport for about as long as these people who died playing video games did, would they not also suffer serious health risks? It only makes sense that this would be applied to video games due to (as you said) their appeal along with their accessibility and popularity. However, the issue is (again, as you said) only really going to apply to the people with addictive personalities, as most wouldn't be playing for over four consecutive hours (at least, I'd hope not).
ProtoMario
ProtoMario 2 years ago
Yep...everything that doesn't appeal to casuals = Disorder
SGT Wolf
SGT Wolf 2 years ago
ProtoMario HEYHOO!
Titus Bacchus
Titus Bacchus 2 years ago
miss you love you x
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Love you too b
Über Alles
Über Alles 2 years ago
I could see feminist using this against gamers just to promote their agenda.
Kelvin Kelly
Kelvin Kelly 2 years ago
I could see anyone using this information against gamers to promote their agenda, not just feminists
Pelvic Gaming
Pelvic Gaming 2 years ago
The fact you showed Sonic Forces had me laughing. Bless this channel.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
;)
jordan karl
jordan karl 2 years ago
I was your 11,111th subscriber
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Welcome!
Valerie
Valerie 2 years ago
You remind me of Arsene Lupin.
Valerie
Valerie 2 years ago
He does. :)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
He looks pretty cool tbf
Valerie
Valerie 2 years ago
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ars%C3%A8ne_Lupin Just your avatar, really.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Hmm haven't heard of them
Life Comedy Action
Life Comedy Action 2 years ago
Wait, the who?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yes, although we are talking about my generation here, we're not talking about that type.
Hoodied
Hoodied 2 years ago
Ive gamed a few games in my time
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Likewise
KVLT TENDANCY
KVLT TENDANCY 2 years ago
Huh, weird. It's interesting but I can see it being used as an excuse for slimy politicians to say "videogames are bad m'kay".
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah it is
Rads
Rads 2 years ago
I think classifying gaming as a disorder is a very slippery slope. It's like you said you can be addicted to things but the things you are addicted too don't become disorders. If I am addicted to heroin I don't have "heroin disorder" I have a drug addiction like wise if I am addicted to playing video game then it's a gaming addiction. None of these things could be classified as a disorder and as soon as we say gaming addiction is a disorder we then need to lump anything that can become an addiction into that definition as well. It gets very problematic.
PauLtus B
PauLtus B 2 years ago
I think the difficulty of it is that gaming by nature just isn't necessarily addicting. I'm not talking about a person to person basis but games be based on a whole lot of different systems and it's simply the case that some systems are addictive and others aren't. You won't find someone who's addicted to gaming in general, but generally to a specific game. And there are specific games which people get addicted to and these are generally of certain genres and contain certain systems. World of Warcraft of course is a well-known example, but that's a game that is build to keep you hooked for years as it's based on a monthly subscription, so the longer you can keep people playing, the more money you make. It's build to be addictive from the start. Any free to play game or game with micro transactions have systems build in to keep you playing on the basis for rewards but always keep that far enough to make you want to resort to paying eventually. The reason you're playing then is not because you enjoy playing but because you want to get a new thing. Especially stuff like random loot is addictive for similar reasons that gambling is. It's quite painful to see these systems implemented in games that are made with the intent to make something good as people start to think that it's actually something they want as they can't differentiate their enjoyment from their addiction. I'd also like to add that similar systems exist absolutely everywhere. Social media wants to keep you on their website/app around for as long as possible (so you see a maximum amount of advertisements) so it aims to be addictive. Streaming services work on the basis of a subscription and their main draw has been TV-series, the easiest way to get people to continue to watch that isn't by actually making something good but simply by making sure people will anticipate the next episode. So overall: there's something problematic going on, I just refuse to say it's a gaming thing.
Daily Dungeonists
Daily Dungeonists 2 years ago
World of warcraft.. was opposed to it till i saw the animal/beast mounts pets etc collections (ive always enjoyed collecting things and trying to acheive get it all like pokemon. ) and my x wanted to play it with me, and it was the only way to spend time with her (cuz its all she f`n cared about besides her dog and her mom lol) i enjoyed collecting and riding around on the beasts and such as well as following my gf/x around ingame, having "fun", but i also enjoyed exploring the vast world. You're very correct on its about what we seek from the game. Me i seek collections and adventure, and things you can not get in this world.
Shunk
Shunk 2 years ago
New editor?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Nah he's done it in the past, he just isn't around too much.
Buffaloguy1991
Buffaloguy1991 2 years ago
Gamers are becoming one of the most attacked groups in recent history.
M a
M a 2 years ago
Is there a disording of watching all of The Right Opinion's video?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yes
LexaNightcore
LexaNightcore 2 years ago
As a teacher I will be very thankful to be able to diagnose that disorder to get those children the help they need.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
That's good :)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Poor you
Yyunko
Yyunko 2 years ago
Way fucking underrated
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thanks :)
Steckz
Steckz 2 years ago
I self diagnosed myself with stage 5 gamer
Steckz
Steckz 2 years ago
Still no possible cure for it
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Tragic
Strategossable
Strategossable 2 years ago
You are of right opinions
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you
gNightrow
gNightrow 2 years ago
Am I the only one who thought that the baby's skin was ripped off from its head at 0:53 ?
Captain Fish Eye
Captain Fish Eye 2 years ago
wait until they come up with brick disorders in tha future
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
That'll be interesting
- Ophelia
- Ophelia 2 years ago
I didn't know this was an actual thing, but I've been actively avoiding video games for years because of this. I have a pretty addictive personality so I'd just rather... not
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah same
Yomilover
Yomilover 2 years ago
When I was researching the positive effects of gaming they said to limit game-play to 45 minutes in order to be of any beneficial use to a person. Mostly to encourage problem solving and teamwork. Anymore than that and you over work the brain. Don't understand what Donald Trump's going on about but that's my case for gaming. I bet if you put Donald Trump as a playable character you'd see him think differently.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
That would be an interesting combination
Levi Van Dyne
Levi Van Dyne 2 years ago
Ewww, sonic forces. Dislike
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
RIP
Calamari
Calamari 2 years ago
Thank you for including myst in the baby-flying-through-games montage at the beginning
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
The least that can be done
Mateus Reis
Mateus Reis 2 years ago
I usually like your videos but in this one you really tolerated the gaming disorder BS too much. It is a BS sugestion based on not enough evidence because of lobby. WHO really disapointed there.
azmanabdula
azmanabdula 2 years ago
Im a hardcore gamer, and i hate gambling... In any sense.... Its the reason my house has everything i want, and my friends dont.... (Dumbasses gamble and lose everything) As bubbles in "Trailer park boys" Says " He fucking goes to the fucking horses, loses 800, wins 200, and in his fucking mind hes somehow fucking won"
azmanabdula
azmanabdula 2 years ago
us-first.info/player/video/ndmCbK92XYCra3U.html
Clay Dude
Clay Dude 2 years ago
Alright man, you got me.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
;)
AveragePixel
AveragePixel 2 years ago
Aw hell yeah, i'll be taking my "disorder" all the way to the welfare office. Thanks W.H.O
Travel & Gaming
Travel & Gaming 2 years ago
AveragePixel same brother !!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Doing favours for all of us
Katie Date
Katie Date 2 years ago
I'm slightly guilty when it comes to the great debate. I mostly use it as a form of escapism during times of high stress & anxiety so I can forget about my problems for the day. I do have enough self-control when to stop and take a break. One of the ways I know if I'm playing too much is if I burn through a single player game much quicker than I anticipated based on the average run time. Most games have very simple set objectives for a player to complete and are usually rewarded based on the difficulty of the task and/or getting a specific score. Therefore, it can make sense why it can be a bit addictive as our brain keeps releasing small doses of dopamine for achieving something. Regardless, even if the reward cannot realistically be used to benefit our daily lives. For some individuals, it could be situational. They could be in the middle of a transition from finishing a long-term university course and looking for a job. It might be a mental health issue that was never addressed because the patient wasn't aware of the symptoms. It could be part of a country's popular culture. The only way I see how gaming could be linked to gambling is loot boxes and similar features. You're using real money in hopes of getting really cool stuff despite the creators rigging the chances to high heaven. For example, you may have to buy 100 loot boxes just to get that super rare prize. On the other hand, people that cry foul over Pokemon slots in a game where there is no real money involved is kind of stupid. I think I saw a similar report from China where kids where sent off to rehab camps by their parents due to their internet addiction and it does sound a bit intense. (Source: www.theguardian.com/world/2017/aug/28/electronic-heroin-china-boot-camps-internet-addicts)
BigBossMan538
BigBossMan538 2 years ago
Okay it's not as bad as I thought that it would be. I hope that people won't abuse this, however.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah let's hope.
Mighty Commander
Mighty Commander 2 years ago
What's the problem of "Gaming Disorder" becoming an official desease anyway? It won't stop the production of games, nor will it even hinder it. Also, considering how shit the gaming industry is today, this is the least worrying recent event.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah the industry itself has been really letting itself down
A7F
A7F 2 years ago
good morning to everyone except the only guy who disliked this video
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Preach
A Normal Stop Sign
A Normal Stop Sign 2 years ago
This explained this very well. I was extremely confused on how it was being classified along with gambling and such, love the vid as always.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thank you my dude!
Within Sanity
Within Sanity 2 years ago
With the addition of loot box micro transactions in the majority of triple A titles they could just get rid of gaming addiction and re categorize it under gambling addiction...
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
It's funny because it's true
Swedishmafia101 Meme Corporation
#NotAllGamers
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
A riveting movement
Floop Floop
Floop Floop 2 years ago
Hilarious title
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Couldn't resist
vin cam
vin cam 2 years ago
I play games on a casual sense i dont play 72 hours STRAIGHT
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Reasonable scale
MahmoudYRN
MahmoudYRN 2 years ago
Me
MrBeast
MrBeast 2 years ago
I want a disorder
Fuck wugget
Fuck wugget 5 months ago
Oh
ΛutistiЄ
ΛutistiЄ 2 years ago
Umm hi? XD
TheVsagent
TheVsagent 2 years ago
Work and party harder then.
addison v
addison v 2 years ago
lol
gNightrow
gNightrow 2 years ago
Im sure doing 24 hour challenges count as a disorder.
Lanker4
Lanker4 2 years ago
That Sonic Forces shade was glorious
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
A moment of brilliance from HariusAwesome
Random Dude
Random Dude 2 years ago
Damn ur at 10k now
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Ye
gamingfungusfan114
gamingfungusfan114 2 years ago
Poo poo minion fart
twinkletoes mcfuckass
Woah, calm down there socrates
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Eloquently put
Bricc Thicc
Bricc Thicc 2 years ago
I have the Twitter disorder.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
We all do
Dierdri716
Dierdri716 2 years ago
From an addict point I could see it. My husband and I had our moments where we spent our non working hours just gaming nonstop, but as you have pointed out addiction can be applied to many hobbies. We learned moderation is the key
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Definitely
Athan Nyx
Athan Nyx 2 years ago
As you stated... Gaming being mentioned as one has a reason and it is a good one. But I actually wonder if they are going to have computer and smart phone addiction somewhere on there if they are getting that specific. There are literally people who can't unplug.
Parker Jones
Parker Jones 2 years ago
While some may argue that phones can't kill because you'll eventually run out of battery, this "type" of addiction is much, much more prevelent. So why isn't it included? Sounds like someone's incompetent.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Another good point.
absolute bs
absolute bs 2 years ago
I can't wait to spring this one at my next Workmans Compensation hearing. I'll let ya know the results. Thanks for the heads up!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Have fun ;)
Ciaran
Ciaran 2 years ago
PCMASTERACE
Ciaran
Ciaran 2 years ago
The Right Opinion HAVE YOU CLEANED YOUR GAMER GEAR????
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Wo
Ayy Lmao
Ayy Lmao 2 years ago
Hey clown what’s it like to be on baited with keemstar is he intelligent
Random Dude
Random Dude 2 years ago
Ayy Lmao how are you verifed with 2k subs
Ayy Lmao
Ayy Lmao 2 years ago
The Right Opinion cmon clown you can’t fool me
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
This is your running gag I see
Glady
Glady 2 years ago
I'll be honest I don't quite get why they make a distinction for this. Surely there should only be two types of addiction - substance and behavioural. In the same way that schizophrenics may express their condition through many different symptoms. I think notably with that example too is that when/if a schizophrenic relapses they may show completely different (but still applicable to the disorder) symptoms than they did initially - I think the same caution should be taken with gaming addiction.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Definitely, should be treated within reasonable context, which, nonetheless, is always the concern.
Gallus gallus domesticus
🔟/🔟
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Cheers
Xemgoa
Xemgoa 2 years ago
..... -inhales, and then exhales- ... I get that some people are definitely trying their best where their profession lies for determining health issues for documentations, I feel as though something like "gaming addiction" could have been left at "addictive personalities", or at least made a clarified distinction between gaming wouldn't equal gaming disorder. I may have to disagree on "gaming disorder" part barely having any implications, but I'd be lying if I did not say it was because I didn't want any person to have any leverage to lie to their kids over something they don't know enough about or someone trying to keep the narrative going of "games are bad". I'm worried even if it's small, someone is still gonna find a way to do some harm if they manage to find a way to make it work. I know that when life and responsibilities are neglected, the one responsible is the one to blame, as well as who brought them up to divide time between work and play, the hobby is not in anyway the issue (Hyperbole warning: unless some kid/teen/pre-adult thought hitting kids with sticks was their hobby, then that would be one cause of alarm), but rather the said person inability to know when to stop and take care of somethings to keep a healthy life going for them. (House work, jobs, taxes, etc;). Even then, we forget that as human beings we can still do what we want, even when raised well, we can only HOPE we choose to keep doing the right thing. I think I have gone on long enough, but I wish folks would just stop with the scapegoating and investigate what they don't like, even if they know they won't like the material/activity/pass time. It kinda makes me sad a little inside when some young kid could be exploring the wonderful titles for gaming for his age and could grow up with multiple experiences with gaming as I would imagine with more or different hobbies of other kinds, my issue is with the people who just go off the vague, citing only one source (rather than multiple), and "because someone important said so, so it's evil/you can't!" narrative like a narrowminded fool... and yes, giving said Timmy/Sally a hard time/aggressively pushing to make some things to be seen as evil in their eyes if it means using extreme punishment. But then again, you can tell I wear my emotions on my sleeve and I tend to be hyperbolic, it's difficult to keep as focused and said my feelings and biased aside as good as you are when dealing with situations like this, misinformation or neglect to better name/define some things...
Parker Jones
Parker Jones 2 years ago
Damnit he said what I was gonna say before AND more eliquently than I could.
Xemgoa
Xemgoa 2 years ago
The sentiments are appreciated, albeit I don't think I've been as in depth as should be. (Or it feels that way). Feels like I'm getting it all out as though it's in one big emotional blurt, so I am going to try and let things stew in my head a while longer before giving a response when I'm not emotionally irked/hyped. And I gave that idea some thought in the past, but I turned down the idea since US-first simply doesn't have a level field between companies and content creators, the annoying Copyright strikes falsely claimed, and the fact that even if you repeal it, I know most works instead make revenue that goes to anyone else other than you. I don't see how hard it is for a company to come up to a content creator and ask to obtain a bit of profit of your views, and I'm not gonna deal with the fact that repealing is annoying. Then again, I view myself as a coward since wonderful ladies and gents, like yourself, risk your necks to get important information out there or to just be yourselves, even if it means constant demonitizations. I do appreciate the compliment and the suggestion, but I feel more comfortable in the comment section, cheering you on and giving criticism where I believe it's needed or just giving my two cents if that is the best I can do.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Honestly you could make your own video responses to my videos, I'm impressed by the speed and depth of these comments.
balwinder345
balwinder345 2 years ago
The WHO has already recently taken flak with their "meat causes cancer" declaration. Its not like they're infallible, they just seem to go by aggregations of studies, which can be flawed on the individual level. Not likely to have anything substantial come out of this.
Mateus Reis
Mateus Reis 2 years ago
in this case there was not enouh evidence. They screwed up.
Sporco Figlio di Puttana
Parents want to take the vidya, Government wants to take the vidya, feminists want to take the vidya, the World Health Organization wants to take the vidya, and I'm here to tell you, 1776 WILL COMMENCE AGAIN IF YOU TRY TO TAKE OUR VIDYA! IT DOSENT MATTER HOW MANY LEMMINGS YOU GET OUT THERE IN THE STREET BEGGING FOR THEM TO HAVE THEIR VIDYA TAKEN. *WE WILL NOT RELINQUISH THEM! DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME!?*
purpleprinc3
purpleprinc3 2 years ago
Thank you for the explanation :)
Sporco Figlio di Puttana
purpleprinc3 It's short for 'vidya gaem'. Vidya is also the Hindu word for knowledge.
purpleprinc3
purpleprinc3 2 years ago
What if 'vidya' may I ask?
AlexTheBat 901
AlexTheBat 901 2 years ago
I just see this as a sub section of addictive personality, as only a few deaths have been linked to intense game sessions, e.g. People dying in Internet cafes due to a combination of burnout, lack of sustenance and the inability to know when to call it quits. But this shouldn't advance to anything even slightly serious or affect the lives of many, if any, people.
Da Bossman
Da Bossman 2 years ago
Alex Watson tru
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Exactly
HI How are you?
HI How are you? 2 years ago
I don't really give a fuck what status they give gaming.
Mr Radiance
Mr Radiance 2 years ago
I don't want to speculate but I'm very concerned about the usage and its implementation in American culture if it does get classified as such
Mr Radiance
Mr Radiance 2 years ago
Parker Jones in the last year there's been a constant demonization of people who play video games situations like gamergate the attack on Discord in trying to bring connections to misogyny and video games have all been talking points about the medium what SEPTA classification these arguments may be given more validity and further stigmatized than Medium as a whole
Parker Jones
Parker Jones 2 years ago
If you're an adult, you won't get your copies of Skyrim and FTL taken away as games are classified as free speech. However, I do fear that this frankly ham-fisted name and defenition will have an effect on gaming's growth. It's seemingly evidence that gaming is bad and it's not from an easily refutable source.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah I get that
Spam Artist
Spam Artist 2 years ago
Oh god. They're gonna end up putting me in a mental asylum.
Doco
Doco 2 years ago
Great video as always.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thanks g
Kunvulin
Kunvulin 2 years ago
Gaming being classified as its own mental health condition, I don't see will cause that much of a stir, unless the old white geezers that run our countries think something of it.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Indeed, it's not our own interpretation that should be of such concern, just trusting others is always the issue.
Harrison Gowland
Harrison Gowland 2 years ago
winners don't do drugs
TheVsagent
TheVsagent 2 years ago
Then how do they even compete?
Robin Van De Maele
Robin Van De Maele 2 years ago
exept steroids in which case use lots of drugs
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
With a few exceptions
WAND3R
WAND3R 2 years ago
you can become addicted to anything if you have a certain kind of personality
TheVsagent
TheVsagent 2 years ago
But can you become a certain kind of personality?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
True on principle
TheMasterKrook
TheMasterKrook 2 years ago
Tbh, I feel it's good to have it specifically referenced, especially since, like you said, is such a big problem in some parts of the world, but I worry it's gonna go down the same route as when people almost trivialise it, and self diagnose, sorta like the Tumblr depression and anxiety aesthetic where they've just blown their own symptoms out of proportion, and they don't actually have it, almost negating any sort of reputation these sorta mental illnesses have and not having them being taken seriously in actual cases sometimes Also nice sonic forces reference. God damn that game was disappointing
Daily Dungeonists
Daily Dungeonists 2 years ago
How would you know if they have it or not
TheMasterKrook
TheMasterKrook 2 years ago
The Right Opinion you can see the problem? Thank god, I can't. I've been blind for years God these puns are awful
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yeah I definitely see the problem there.
Chewbonic
Chewbonic 2 years ago
woah i just realised, youre at 10k. well done mate, well deserved
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Thanks man!
OnlyBro555
OnlyBro555 2 years ago
Has StarCraft gone too far?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Ah okay makes sense
OnlyBro555
OnlyBro555 2 years ago
The Right Opinion qoute was fake.But Albert Estien did actually make a essay called ""why socialism""
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Fake quote but real?
OnlyBro555
OnlyBro555 2 years ago
The Right Opinion ""We must destory capitalism and the state and StarCraft""- Albert Estien in Why socialism. (Fake qoute but a actual name of a essay that he did)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Yes
Darker Elite the Pi Ninja
As a gamer I surprisingly don't not have an opinion on this subject to be honest the source material is quite boring not do any fault of your own of course
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
He blocked me.
Darker Elite the Pi Ninja
The Right Opinion just get drunk and rant about keemstar again I'm sure it will work for a second time
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
I was hoping my personality would make it mildly more interesting
Darker Elite the Pi Ninja
The Right Opinion it's already boring so you had to make it even more boring by proving that it affects nothing
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
It's not the most riveting stuff, which is why I had to dispel any hysteria surrounding it.
Doctor Lighthouse
Doctor Lighthouse 2 years ago
You would be the best conductor on NY’s subways.I didn’t get a word that you said at all.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Lol
Muhammad Dayyaan
Muhammad Dayyaan 2 years ago
honestly, I think just being alive is it's own disorder
azmanabdula
azmanabdula 2 years ago
Entropy meme......clever
Vulpez Vulpez
Vulpez Vulpez 2 years ago
funnie edjee meem
Tairā
Tairā 2 years ago
What other games do you play?
Tairā
Tairā 2 years ago
The Right Opinion no problem man
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Appreciate the recommendation :)
Tairā
Tairā 2 years ago
I've been hooked on Outlast for a while. It has it's flaws but I definitely recommend if you like horror.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 2 years ago
Not much atm
I SMASH TO REDBONE
I SMASH TO REDBONE 2 years ago
Yes please
Next
The Zipf Mystery
21:05