Dark

"But They're Allowed To Do It" 

Views 7K
97% 68 2

- Twitter: RightOpinionYT
- Patreon: www.patreon.com/therightopinion
- Edited by: us-first.info
- Special thanks to: Nocty, SoulTrex, DavisCedrezGaming, Zany Jester
- Thumbnail: us-first.info/more/yuNHQVfhMgszyJ2FRPfHUg
I’ve travelled on a fair few long haul flights in my time, and despite the fact that you may’ve paid a few hundred pounds per ticket the money always seems to be lost somewhere the payment and the service. That’s no surprise to an extent, companies wanna make money, and they want to offer the bare minimum that they can do without losing paying customers.
It seems this bar has progressively been lowered over the years and has finally hit rock bottom with the glorious company known as United Airlines, now as we investigated recently with Pepsi, it seems that corporations aren’t having the best time in the media right now, and in an attempt to outdo their soft beverage rivals, United Airlines have been embroiled in a new scandal that surely contend a new low in customer service.
But first lemme enlighten with you some juicy knowledge, overbooking is a ploy taken up by aviation companies, in which they overbook planes that would typically be full regardless, this is done as it’s quite regular practice for people who have booked them to not turn up for their flights, some people claim that this is because airlines want to promote greener travel and lower fares for paying customers, that is sanctimonious bullshit, the truth is the company has a full flight and more money in their pocket. It comes down to their money, not yours.

Published on

 

Apr 16, 2017

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 62   
Kavos
Kavos 3 years ago
Lindsay We Are too Young To Have Kids
AngryChimp
AngryChimp 3 years ago
Kavos why won't you kiss me.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Best quote
Moy
Moy Month ago
Aviation of 2017 - Present in a *shellnut*
raddish owo
raddish owo 5 months ago
"That's not the FUÇ;ING environment they're fUÇHiñg p l a n e s "
Shari Pope
Shari Pope Year ago
Amen! Trump!!
mrcuriosity o
mrcuriosity o Year ago
It's not "overbooked" you fuck!
Cyber Justiciar
Interesting. Came across this searching for something completely unrelated.
CzarPeppers
CzarPeppers 2 years ago
Gotta love peak capitalism.
GravityFails46')
GravityFails46') 2 years ago
During the summer me and my family took 4 united flights ( since we were on a budget ) two to new york and two from it I was surprised that none of the flights weren’t overbooked and sometimes there was even extra seats causation isn’t correlation but I hope united learned it’s lesson regardless
PeachesforMe
PeachesforMe 2 years ago
Oi, this situation always enrages me. Fuck this company. They should fucking charge the 'air wardens' or whatever piece of shit did this with attempted murder or at least assault.
Xemgoa
Xemgoa 2 years ago
Speaking of, since I heard about that as well, anything about their actions being reprimanded?
JPNDN
JPNDN 3 years ago
Bit late to this one but they do do it for your wallet (and theirs). Customers have clearly voted with their money showing that cheap flights are more important than comfort so companies are in a race to the bottom price wise. Overbooking allows them to be more competitive (with cheaper flights) meaning it's better in general for the customer. I'm in favour of it. Been denied boarding once, it was inconvenient but less so than a price mark up of every ticket
jnub
jnub 3 years ago
Wow, your intro WAS worse beforehand.
TheRedVelveteer
TheRedVelveteer 3 years ago
"I'm The Right Opinion - and the skies may be friendly, but the ground is a massive c***." Ouch. At least they're getting what they deserve...that is, public humiliation, significant profit loss and witty one-liners.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Hahaha exactly ;)
Neon Parrots
Neon Parrots 3 years ago
This video is fucking beautiful. You sir, are an amazing person and I hope you become very successful. The world needs more people who speak their minds but do so in a logical and more civilized manner.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thank you for these comments and your commitment to my section, it's support like this that keeps my channel going.
Electro740
Electro740 3 years ago
nice video my dude
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks man
Joatmon
Joatmon 3 years ago
Just saw this. There is nothing in the Contract of Carriage that allows UAL to remove a passenger for other than safety. They can " deny boarding" but not remove.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah I read that too
Paynos
Paynos 3 years ago
Good stuff as usual mate
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Cheers man
Veka Vex
Veka Vex 3 years ago
Airplanes run by jet fuel?No it's run by pure greed.Good video. Greedy bastards!I woudn't give up my seat.No way.
Not Dom
Not Dom 3 years ago
Finally got to get to this video. Good as always
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Ay thanks man
Ronald Culver
Ronald Culver 3 years ago
Just think all of this could have been avoided if a model had given the airport cops a Pepsi!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Where's Kendall Jenner when you need her?
1bigjohn11
1bigjohn11 3 years ago
Look up the lawyer for that Dr. that was dragged off plane. His name is Thomas Demetrio. That lawyer settled a case for the NFL & NHL players against the league for a Billion dollars. Yes, 1 Billion dollars...hes a badass. United will get fucked hard on this one....probably the city of Chicago with the keystone cops too. United needs to fire that fucktard of a CEO and fast
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Damn, this is gonna get fiery
Gerbn
Gerbn 3 years ago
I like your outro man, what is it?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
AlunaGeorge & Jack Garrett - Surprise Yourself
lizard450
lizard450 3 years ago
The plane wasn't over booked. They at the last minute wanted to get 4 of their employees onto the plane. This is why everyone was already boarded before they started offering vouchers. The man was already boarded and rule 25 in the United Contract of Passage that the CEO was talking about is denied boarding. Dao was already boarded. They are suppose to offer vouchers and shit BEFORE they board and if they need to choose someone they don't let them board. Since Dao was already boarded this rule didn't apply to the situation... United fucked up. The officer's police department relased a statement saying that the officer's actions were not within the guidelines for the department and they do not approve... basically putting his qualified immunity in jeapordy. United fucked up... big time... and so did the officer.
FoeAndy
FoeAndy 3 years ago
the right opinion click down below also love your vids Read more
FoeAndy
FoeAndy 3 years ago
The Right Opinion thx alot for commenting im subbing right now!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thank you but that click does not look very legitimate.
Timothy
Timothy 3 years ago
"These gentlemen yanking..."
Timothy
Timothy 3 years ago
The Right Opinion LOL
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Do with that quote what you will
Custom Lioness7
Custom Lioness7 3 years ago
I do agree United Airlines was extremely wrong and this is just terrible but this man should of just got off like the three other people who were forced to and then take matters as an adult! I would of definitely have protested and let them know this was wrong then as soon as I got off would of called my lawyer. I'm sorry but this man acted ridiculous and as a doctor should've been more professional. This is extremely wrong of United Airlines and all I'm saying when something happens like this to act like an adult and take care of the situation like a mature adult!!
jimbobeire
jimbobeire 3 years ago
You're looking at this from the wrong starting point. If the airline had no right to ask him to leave (and you can read all the CFR, FAR and CoC rules to confirm that) then he didn't have to leave. Threatening him with force doesn't make it suddenly okay. If he chooses to leave to avoid a beating, or chooses to risk one just not to give in to bullying, then that's his call to make. Nothing immature about it. If you think he should have given in and sued later, ask yourself, why shouldn't the airline have let him in his seat and sued later... if they were so sure they were in the right? Where exactly do you see the cops having any jurisdiction at all over a commercial contract dispute?
Custom Lioness7
Custom Lioness7 3 years ago
@The Right Opinion I do see ur point and agree but I just can't get over how immature he acted and as a doctor I would assume him to be more professional in such a situation! What United Airlines did was wrong I will not dispute that. I do say shame on United Airlines and him for not acting as an adult like the three other passengers did.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Oh yeah I'm not saying he's an angel. But I think any belligerence on his behalf was overshadowed by the whole situation, and I understand his reaction, although maybe uncouth, there may be some specific urgency to his situation at the time. Not defending him necessarily but I can understand why people react adversely.
shadetree surgeon
shadetree surgeon 3 years ago
Your sign off line was so fuckin money.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeaheh bwoiii
Arpan
Arpan 3 years ago
very good video :)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks man
Ben
Ben 3 years ago
Who's watching in 2017? Great vid
ch1aka2
ch1aka2 3 years ago
People, Stop rewarding the airlines behavior with your $$$.
Sand
Sand 3 years ago
roasted!
tanzanable
tanzanable 3 years ago
Listen to this discussion of legal experts who indicate that the airline apparently followed the law. However, the experts expect an out of court settlement not because any laws were broken but because it would help with public relations due to the media and general public blaming the airline: lawmyass.libsyn.com/united-airlines-with-guest-stan-davis-the-law-is-my-ass-e17-20170415
jimbobeire
jimbobeire 3 years ago
lawnewz.com/high-profile/united-cites-wrong-rule-for-illegally-de-boarding-passenger/
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks I'll definitely watch, you're right that it has certainly damaged their reputation (look at their share prices), so it'd make sense to have some sort of reparation.
notyou sama
notyou sama 3 years ago
Good video! Also astounding how after only 16 hours the video got almost as many views as you have subscribers.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
I know it's awesome, long may it last
Silly dino dino
Silly dino dino 3 years ago
I mean they can do that and he did fight back so why is this a big deal it's like if the police tell you to move you have to move because there police and in this case airport security.
jimbobeire
jimbobeire 3 years ago
Yes, someone did something wrong. You need to educate yourself about your own rights so you understand this. Legally, if there are 75 people in the queue for a 74 seat flight, then the airline can only allow 74 of you to board. What you casually refer to as bumping, is actually called denial of boarding in their terms and conditions. Nothing in there allows them to remove a seated passenger for overbooking. They can only kick you off the plane for safety issues, or misbehaviour or similar serious situations. What they can do if they have 4 dead head crew to fly is open up the company checkbook, announce that they will pay to buy back seats from people willing to get a later flight. That's how other airlines handle this. There's always a few people with more flexible travel plans who will be happy to take a later flight in return for a good deal. On this plane there was another passenger who offered to do that but she wanted more than just $800 in vouchers which the airline was offering. The airline pretended to have the right to bump people from inside the plane, because the comp for 'involuntary denied boarding' is capped by law. They screwed 4 people over just to save a few hundred bucks.
Silly dino dino
Silly dino dino 3 years ago
It was overbooked no one did anything wrong it was just over booked and they needed to get someone out for some crew members to get on the plane also I never said what they did wasn't wrong.
Y L
Y L 3 years ago
Then why the United CEO admitted that the customer was not at fault in anyway? How do you explain that?
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
It's all good man, I don't want my comment section to be an echo chamber I crave the debate honestly.
Silly dino dino
Silly dino dino 3 years ago
Hmmmmm.......... I guess but I really like your commentary. Keep on doing great commentary.😀
LAINSEEKSMUSICTM
LAINSEEKSMUSICTM 3 years ago
It is bullshit
Seth Morris
Seth Morris 3 years ago
I want to know the names of those three vicious cops.
Seth Morris
Seth Morris 3 years ago
United Airlines reminds me of the vicious communists.
Vincent Martin
Vincent Martin 3 years ago
You been on a roll recently. I guess your over the sickness is and the university isn't the biggest shit as normal.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah it's relinquished its power for now
Brain In A Cat
Brain In A Cat 3 years ago
My man
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Legend
maggotbae
maggotbae 3 years ago
amazing video
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks :)
sgcl10658
sgcl10658 3 years ago
I don't have problem with overbooking as I gladly took some of their offers before but if they want to overbook, they have to offers good incentives for people to volunteer to accept their offers. How do you call "voluntary" when nobody volunteers, you force people to do it? It's like saying voting is voluntary but if you don't vote, the government drags you to voting booths.
Roescoe
Roescoe Year ago
Overbooking Seats sounds like a really smart move actually.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah definitely I think there's more pragmatic ways to do it. Either offer more or have premeditated 'Overbooking Seats' which are sold slightly cheaper that people know that they may be ousted off the flight. I think that's the sensible approach.
gaatutube
gaatutube 3 years ago
It was not overbooking. They wanted to get on additional employees of their own on to the plane (employees who are not paying anything and never booked any seats). I don't understand why they can't put their own employees at the lowest priority compared to PAYING customers ?
T Long
T Long 3 years ago
This was not an overbooked flight . All passengers had been processed , and seated . This is negligence on United Airlines part in not having staff in the right place . Management should be fired for incompetent behaviour . Not only should they all be fired , these people should be arrested . And this culture of abusive airlines should be ended IMMEDIATELY ! This is robbery , robber this man's seat , this is crime
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah I understand it, the term overbooking was being thrown around a lot and to an extent it is but it was more of an exceptional case. But yeah their staff were certainly not worth pulling someone out of a seat for.
Professor Voxi
Professor Voxi 3 years ago
Legality is always a huge issue, with people mistaking law and punishment for what's right and wrong.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah definitely
Connor Smith
Connor Smith 3 years ago
Loving the quality of ur videos mate loving it. Idk how ur only at 1k subs🤙👍
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks man appreciate it
Mayor of Ohio
Mayor of Ohio 3 years ago
Changed me opinion up a bit DavisLOKEYGaming > Chombie > Vegan Gains > you > DaddyOFive > Ricegum > Luna > FaZe Blaziken > DramaAlert > Tana Mongeau you're falling behind m8 step up
ed p
ed p 3 years ago
They used the police to enforce the fine print of their contract. The thing is they may have been exceeding what their contract allows. It seems that it only covers overbooking prior to boarding the aircraft. If true I hope they really get spanked. I have personally experienced overbooking after boarding the plane. Once I left the plane, once I didn't have to. It seems that airlines have gotten used to bouncing passengers AFTER boarding the plane. That for sure has to stop. It is sickening that this man got beaten just for being stubborn.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
There is this growing entitlement with companies by the looks of it, and it's all boiled over here, whoever's at fault deserves to be punished because it's unacceptable actions.
Rabbit TeaPot
Rabbit TeaPot 3 years ago
So many fucking idiots saying "he should have just left when asked" on Twitter...alright pal, I'll remember -you- said that when it's you getting fucked up the ass, looking about for -anyone- to have your back.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah a lot of people lacking empathy on this situation
TT DE NADA ABBA
TT DE NADA ABBA 3 years ago
BOYCOTT , BOYCOTT boycott boycott boycott boycott boycott boycott
Joshua Piper
Joshua Piper 3 years ago
I don't understand how they can get away with this. People say it wasn't even the overbooking issue but that the flight attendants needed the seats. Eitherway the poor bloke was bleeding do those 'muscle' not have feelings. it's going to get worse... this world i mean
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah it's fucked up, I can't believe they treated him like that.
Shredder Kev
Shredder Kev 3 years ago
That guy had the right to his seat, it was the companies fault for overbooking. This better change, stop overbooking. I mean what if that guy was a doctor, maybe going to someones funeral that was far away, or just anything that could be really important. The guy ended up with blood on his face, what they did seemed more like abuse then anything. If he was not willing to give up his seat, they could have asked other people individually, or if the plane was full, and there was a customer who had no seat, they should have gave that person another flight. Maybe it should be first come first serve if it ends up being overbooked
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
There is a typical first come first serve approach but they clearly didn't adopt that here, and it's pathetic.
Shlubbs
Shlubbs 3 years ago
So much TRO content, I love it. Keep it up mate!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks man, appreciate it!
ItsAHelbitz
ItsAHelbitz 3 years ago
overbooking usually is apparent before the passengers board the plain, at which point the last person to show will be denied access to the plain,monetarily compensated and be booked to the next possible flight(which is is also overbooked). the idea is the at some point they will book the person on an overbooked flight that will have a spare space for him by the end, essentially selling the same seat twice and then giving it to the overbooked person from the flight before. part of the scandal here was the facted that the overbooking was only apparent after everyone was on board. the fact was that it wasn't really overbooked, but United wanted to move some employees on a whim the another airport and forgot to book thier own employees to thier own flight. just wanted to throw my 2 cents out there.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks man appreciate it!
ItsAHelbitz
ItsAHelbitz 3 years ago
The Right Opinion of course! never said that was acceptable. keep on with the top quality content.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah that's fair enough, I understand it I just don't think it's acceptable in certain circumstances and they certainly shouldn't be forcing people who may need to fly urgently.
yaughdeady
yaughdeady 3 years ago
great vid i dont 100% agree with all your videos but this one was a good watch
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Lol
yaughdeady
yaughdeady 3 years ago
his opinion is right but that do3$nt make mine wrong
Mira Meffie
Mira Meffie 3 years ago
x0FrostBite What do you mean you don't agree? Is opinion is right.
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Glad you enjoyed, my videos can't side with everyone, but what matters is that I make content that people enjoy.
Truly Prodigious
Truly Prodigious 3 years ago
Very informative
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thank you
oExplictt
oExplictt 3 years ago
Good video, i've been watching you for awhile now and your videos are extremely good and well spoken and said keep it up :)
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thank you, appreciate it a lot. :)
Kit Black
Kit Black 3 years ago
good video
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Thanks man
All Mighty Pixel
All Mighty Pixel 3 years ago
I love the letter that address the situation that was named as though they were talking about it but was completely Unapologetic about their practices
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Yeah it shows how out of touch they are
KneeCaps
KneeCaps 3 years ago
I'm just glad the guy wasn't black. Now you know the moment someone hears that another person accidentally sneezed in a black man's direction, NON-STOP RIOTS!
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Shit would've kicked off
my name Geoff Productions
Say OBASS in the next video plz
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
What is OBASS?
OnlyBro555
OnlyBro555 3 years ago
Capitalism simulator.
ツRobin
ツRobin 2 months ago
And the slave and child labor sidequests
OnlyBro555
OnlyBro555 3 years ago
The Right Opinion DLC:Kill labour unions in third countries extra cool adventure expansion pack
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
$20 on steam per beating
Teori
Teori 3 years ago
im ready to nut nigga
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Good
The Right Opinion
The Right Opinion 3 years ago
Had feedback in the past that the audio was too quiet, not quite perfect but we're working on it. Hope you enjoy.
OwenEpicBoy
OwenEpicBoy 3 years ago
I didn't notice it until you pointed it out lol
Next
The Zipf Mystery
21:05